a reading list, the fourth

11 Feb

  • The Girl Who Played with Fire – Stieg Larsson.  Good. Good. Good.  This book is the second in a trilogy series – I wrote about the first one here.  Book two dove deep into Lisbeth’s past while making use of her excellent computer hacker skills.  I really liked how complex this crime-thriller book was, and how well developed the plot turned out to be.  I do most of my reading during nap time or while I am nursing Eva, with this book I found myself sitting and holding her long after she as done eating just to get to a good stopping place in the book and to see how Lisbeth was fairing.  For some reason, this book was my favorite of the three.  I liked knowing more about the troubled heroine, her hellish past, and rooting for her.
  • The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest – Stieg Larsson.  As soon as I finished The Girl Who Played with Fire, I immediately requested the third book in the series from the library.  The Girl Who Played with Fire ends in a cliff hanger, and you want to know what happens immediately.  This books picks up exactly where the former left off.  The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest is definitely the culmination of the three tales.  Not only is Lisbeth’s saga solved, beautifully at that, but a much larger Swedish conspiracy, which Larsson was laying the groundwork for in the other two books, comes to be exposed through Blomkvist & the Millennium Magazine staff .  I liked the unexpected plot surprises, and the interweaving of relationships.  On the night I was no more than 75 pages until done, Joel had just finished putting the older girls to bed and asked me what I wanted to do that night.  All I wanted to do was finish the book.  (He ended up playing Fifa 11 soccer.)  I am very sad there can be no more crime thrillers from Mr. Larsson.  These books were great nap time companions.

***As an aside, the crime solved throughout these two books did not upset me like the one in The Girl with the Dragon Tatoo, however, if these were movies, they would be rated R.  I wrote about the first one here.

  • Anne of Ingleside by L.M.Montgomery.  I continued my reading of the Anne of Green Gables series with the sixth book in the series.  I loved the first five in the series, but I suppose all good things must begin to end at some point.  I did not care for this book nearly as much as I did the previous Anne books.  In this one, she and Gilbert are busy raising their children.  To me, this books was just more lack-luster than the others.  The trials and tribulations of the Bylthe children did not have the same allure as Anne’s woes.  Anne did not see to have the same vivaciousness and the story just didn’t seem to gel together.

What are you guys reading these days?

Here’s to a relaxing weekend and some good family time. Cheers to you.

{This post is linked to Life as Mom Bookin’ It 2011}

4 Responses to “a reading list, the fourth”

  1. barefootrooster February 11, 2011 at 4:51 pm #

    i love your bicycle mug! and i enjoyed your reviews of the trilogy. (also — they are movies — swedish movies! i’ve seen them, and on the whole, they’re excellent, though i am sure that choices were made in adapting them for film. the first one is graphic in all the ways you’d expect, but somehow it strikes me as really important that the violence be shown — acknowledged — in that way. An alternate (or maybe sub) title to the first movie is “Men Who Hate Women.” the movies are being remade for an American audience, and i bet they tone everything way down.

    i’d tell you what i’m reading…but it is less than thrilling today. happy friday!

  2. Carrie February 12, 2011 at 9:12 am #

    I totally agree about “Anne of Ingleside” – the first five are delightful, but there’s certainly something missing starting in #6. However, I still enjoy a read through every now and then. Happy Reading!

  3. Shonda February 12, 2011 at 12:54 pm #

    I love thrillers too! Sounds like you have read a few opposite type books. Anne books are so different! Thanks for the recommendations.

  4. Elizabeth Donelan February 14, 2011 at 5:17 pm #

    and this is why we are soulmates….i too have read the entire anne of green gables series.

    hah. HAPPY VALENTINE’s DAY to you, your girls and joel!

Leave a comment