Fourth of July Dresses

13 Jul

IMG_8064

I made the girls pillowcase dresses this year for the Fourth of July.   I did not have matching white pillowcases, so I used white seersucker fabric instead.  The fabric was pretty sheer and I didn’t want to sport their Huggies  for the whole world to see, so I doubled up the fabric and it made the perfect weight for the dresses.  After the dresses were complete, I stitched ribbon along the bottom for a little pop.

IMG_8068

(Don’t you just want to eat those cute little legs up?)

A couple tidbits about the dresses: I traced armholes from current dresses they own to ensure a good fit.  For Ella, I used 7/8 inch wide ribbon and for Sophie Rose I just the smaller 3/8 inch.

GetAttachment

And, because I love my husband’s photo taking skills one more for good measure.

IMG_8124

2 Responses to “Fourth of July Dresses”

  1. Maria Rose July 14, 2009 at 7:30 pm #

    I just started getting serious about sewing and this is such a great idea. I always find wonderful fabrics in pillow cases. The dresses you made are lovely.

    • theladybird July 15, 2009 at 2:52 am #

      Thanks Maria! Let me know if you make one. I would love to see it!

Leave a Reply

