Old Red Barn Quilt a Long Update

7 Aug

Quilttop

Well, my oh my, it has been a long time since I originally posted about the quilt a long at Old Red Barn Co.  I was working along steadily, and then I got sidetracked.  Truth be told, I had a secret self mission to get over my fear of the zipper. Three zippers later, I am no longer afraid, and pictures are forthcoming.

For the quilt, I pieced all the strips together, and then I cut out the pieces into the squares and set the project aside.  Sunday night I laid out the pieces (after the kids were asleep), and Joel helped me arrange them into a pattern we were happy with.  I got most of the top sewn together that evening.  I finished it up this week and am ready to make the quilt sandwich once I have the back pieced.

On a happy note, my seams are much better than when I pieced the strips together, and I think I have found out a perfect quarter inch seam.  I do not have a quarter inch presser foot.

Now, my mission of trying stippling for the first time.  It may be a little bit before I try it on the quilt.  I foresee a few coasters and bibs in my future!

2 Responses to “Old Red Barn Quilt a Long Update”

  1. Taylor August 8, 2009 at 2:37 am #

    Oh yes, definitely stipple a couple of coasters before you tackle the quilt. Once you get the hang of it, it’s a piece of cake.

    Can’t wait to see how this quilt turns out! Lovely colors!

  2. Maria Rose August 8, 2009 at 2:15 pm #

    The quilt looks beautiful and congrats on getting over your zipper phobia. You’ve inspired me to get over the same fear!

Leave a Reply

