Meringue Toped Key Lime Pie & The Bean Trees

14 Aug

Let me just start by saying I love my book club.  This month was almost like the start of a new club. We had three new members.  On a warm summer night, there was laughing, talking about the book, and about life, sangria, cheese and dessert.

IMG_9092

This month I was responsible for bring dessert to book club.  I saw a recipe on Cooking Light for a Key Lime Tart that looked scrumptious, but I did not have all the ingredients for and did not feel like fiddling with rolling a crust out.  Once I got a hankering for the Key Lime Flavor, I knew nothing else would suffice.  So, I set out to make one.  The Cooking Light crust was significantly different than mine and therefore probably healthier, but whatever.  The filling is exactly their recipe.  Here goes:

Crust:

  • 1 1/2 cups finely ground graham crackers or cookie crumbs
  • 1/3 cup butter, melted
  • 1t. vanilla extract
  • 2-3 T granulated sugar

Pulse crackers/cookies in the food processor until finely ground.  Slowly add in melted butter,  vanilla extract and sugar.  Continue to pulse until well combined and begins to stick together.  Using fingertips and back of a spatula press firmly to pie plate.  Bake in 400 degree over for approximately 10 minutes, until golden brown.  Once I took the shell out of the oven, I pressed my again so it would be nice and firm.

Filling:

  • Zest of two limes
  • 1/2 cup lime juice
  • 4 egg yolks
  • 1 can fat free sweetened condensed milk

Blend all ingredients until well incorporated.  Pour into prepared crust.  Bake in a 375 degree oven for 12 minutes, or until well set.

Meringue Top

  • 3/8 tsp. cream of tartar
  • 4 egg whites
  • 1 t. vanilla extract
  • 1/4 cup granulated sugar

Mix cream of tartar and egg whites until stiff peaks form.  Stiff peaks are when the egg mountains stand up straight instead of folding over when the metal beaters are lifted out of the whipped egg whites.  Once the stiff peaks have formed, beat in sugar and vanilla.  Spread on top of the baked key lime filling.  Swirl the meringue with the back of a spoon so it looks nice.  Bake for 4 minutes in a 400 degree oven until the meringue is browned slighly.

The lime flavor was strong – like actual Key Lime pies made in Key West.  I liked it!

Beantrees

I really like the way Barbara Kingsolver writes.  I find myself captivated by her characters rooting for them as they evolve throughout the story.  I vaguely remember reading(and liking) this book in my 12th grade Humanities class.  Rereading it was like reading a book for the first time!  It was a perfect summer read in the most non-fluffy way!

Leave a Reply

