A Fall Shirt Dress for Lady

27 Oct

shirtdress1

I used Dana’s tutorial to make a plaid shirt dress for Lady.  I am wildly crushing on plaid for the fall.   Since I wanted her to wear it through the winter, I opted for the Madame Librarian sleeves instead of the ones pictured in the tutorial.  I did need some help for the sleeves , but all in all this project was a huge sewing confidence builder.  I am gaining more confidence in my ability to think through a project  That is a very good feeling.  The tutorial was great, and this may be one of my favorite finished projects to date.

shirtdress2

Most importantly, Lady loves the dress and was very anxious for her photo shoot.  Last week on a beautiful sunny October day, we  had a girl’s day out.   We went  to get Lady a hair cut, solve a knitting problem, visit Daddy, and model her dress.  She kept moving her face, feet and hands in different poses as I was taking pictures.  We may have a budding model on our hands if her singing career doesn’t take off =)

And, inadvertently Lady and I now have the same haircut.  I needed a change so I cut off many inches, and we had to even up the ends of her “crazy hair” as she was calling it.

7 Responses to “A Fall Shirt Dress for Lady”

  1. Melissa October 27, 2009 at 9:34 pm #

    Katie!

    I love the dress…so adorable on her and you definitely have a model on your hands. She is beautiful! Great job on the dress…you are so talented!

  2. Maria Rose October 28, 2009 at 2:19 pm #

    Wow, that dress is beautiful. I also really love the sleeves.

  3. Dana Willard October 30, 2009 at 1:04 am #

    Katie, I LOVE how it turned out too! Your sleeves look great. The librarian sleeves are so girly. I need to do more of those. Thank you so much for sharing with me. It’s really fun to see how other people interpret the idea.
    Cute blog btw. Fun to scroll through :).
    – dana

  4. beki October 31, 2009 at 12:32 am #

    so, so adorable!!

  5. Taylor November 1, 2009 at 1:53 am #

    This is so great, Katie!

  6. xo.sorcha.ox November 17, 2009 at 10:46 pm #

    Such a wonderful blog! I suspect I will be back often to read more. 🙂
    Really like your sewing projects; sewing is something I’ve wanted to learn for awhile now. So, I’ve put in a request for a sewing machine for my next birthday. Fingers-crossed! 🙂
    All the best,
    ~S.

  7. Kelly O. December 11, 2009 at 1:33 pm #

    so so cute!

Leave a Reply

