Delightful Sunday

15 Dec

Oh, yesterday was rainy and dreary and foggy but, if I were being totally honest I must admit I love those days every once in a while.  I love them because they are the license to climb into bed with knitting

and Emma

and have the most delightful Sunday afternoon while BOTH GIRLS were sleeping and Joel was watching football!!!!!!

The scarf is a little less than half way done.  It was one of Joel’s birthday presents and is yet to be finished.  He assures me he doesn’t mind so long as it is done before spring arrives.

I did not know until recently BBC filmed a mini-series of Emma which is to be released on PBS in Mid-January.  It is beautifully done and close to the book.  With the joy of You-Tube you can watch it now (episode one & episodes two through four) and have a perfect afternoon.   Emma was beautiful.  Mr. Knightly was perfect.  And, tears were brought to my eyes.

(Both Emma images are courtesy of BBC)

7 Responses to “Delightful Sunday”

  1. barefootrooster December 15, 2009 at 3:00 am #

    love the scarf — what sharp stripes!

  2. Rachel Henderson December 15, 2009 at 11:06 pm #

    YAY!!! Love Emma…and not just my dog…but the heroine of Jane Austen’s fabulous novel! I’m totally gonna look it up and watch it!!! Thanks!! Love you!!

    • theladybird December 15, 2009 at 11:59 pm #

      Oh Rach – you are going to love it so much!!!! Let me know what you think. It is a perfect winter movie!!!

  3. Kelly O. December 17, 2009 at 1:25 pm #

    thank you for posting this–I can’t wait to watch it!

  4. Lizzie December 18, 2009 at 4:23 am #

    A) that striped knitting LOOKS PERFECT! looks like your lessons have really paid off!

    B)…i have a jane austen obsession. you. me. super long BBC pride and prejudice series. one day.

    also, its not a jane austen flick. but I have always really liked

    A Room With a View. you should check it out if you haven’t seen it, I think you would lilke it!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Record Snow « Lady Bird - December 20, 2009

    […] Emma, with Amber who has been snowed in with us b/c she lost power and we don’t want her to […]

  2. a reading list « Lady Bird - April 14, 2010

    […] by Jane Austen – I have mentioned this book before but in regards to the Masterpiece  mini-series which aired this season on PBS.  The […]

Leave a Reply

