A very merry lady Christmas

26 Dec

Lady,

You have given me a gift this year.   You saw a beauty and a wonder to Christmas that can only be seen through the eyes of a toddler.  You helped me fall in love with Christmas all over again; this time as an adult, but with the magic of a child.

There are a few things I want to remember forever.  Everyday when the Christmas light timer came on, you would stop in your tracks and tell me how beautiful it is.

When asked you tell me Christmas is God’s Birthday and we should make Him a cake.

With complete wonder, you asked me this morning if I thought Santa Clause had come and then waited patiently (in a way I didn’t know was possible for a two year old) while we got Sophie Rose up and took pictures in bed.  You also waited until Sophie had found her bear under the Christmas tree to search for your presents.

You want to wear princess dress up every day. all day.

You think you need to wear dress up do to ballet.  Which you also do everyday. all day.

And last but not least, this Christmas, we went to an old theater on the Downtown Mall to see White Christmas.  It was the first time you went to the movies.  White Christmas is my favorite movie of all time.  When I was your age I would turn up the VHS volume to full throttle and march around the living room to”Because we love him”.  As the song came on, sitting in the theater I saw you march in your seat.  Oh Ella.

Thanks lady for being my lady and having a joy that was contagious.

Love you so much,

Mommy

Merry Christmas to all and to all a Good Night

3 Responses to “A very merry lady Christmas”

  1. Addison Howell January 3, 2010 at 4:46 am #

    This is really sweet! And White Christmas is one of my favs as well! Thanks for sharing that! By the way, Broadway High School up near Harrisonburg, is doing White Christmas for their musical the last weekend of Feb. I’m going to see it with my former roommate, she student taught there last year and they put on top notch productions, they did Singin’ in the Rain last year and it was incredible!

  2. Kim Harris January 30, 2010 at 6:44 pm #

    I loved that story, Katie. It gave me such a warm, fuzzy feeling in my heart! I’m so glad that Ella gave you that gift this Christmas!

    I hope you guys are doing well.

    Love,
    Kim

  3. Peggy March 5, 2010 at 8:03 pm #

    Hi there! Thanks for stopping by my blog. The pattern for those shoes is Two-Colour Shoes from Debbie Bliss’ “The Baby Knits Book.” Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

