The Stillness

12 Mar

We have been still.  It has been what we needed.  It has been good.  It is funny how life tells us to keep moving, keep moving, keep moving.  Joel and I are anticipating some big transitions for our family.  In the face of the snow, my creative slump, and the upcoming transition I have been still.  Counter intuitive to what we are told, but I feel I have been a better wife and mom because the stillness allowed me not to fret,  I have been praying, slowly knitting and just this week I turned on my sewing machine.  It had dust on it people; it has been that long since I have sewn anything.  I keep coming back to this quote by Oliver Wendell Holmes,

“Take your needle my child and work at your pattern —
it will come out a rose by and by.
Life is like that . . . one stitch
at a time, taken patiently.”

One Response to “The Stillness”

  1. xo.sorcha.ox March 15, 2010 at 6:18 am #

    Welcome back! 🙂
    ~S.

Leave a Reply

