Bear

13 Mar

Back in November, I took a knitting class at The Needle Lady. I had cast on  a sweater for Sophie right before the class began, and I quickly realized I could not knit nearly as quickly as the weeks were progressing. (The sweater now needs to be re-cast on in a bigger size!)  I knew I wanted to learn how to increase and decrease in order to gain any self-sufficiency in knitting so I switched projects:  Let me introduce:

The Bear!!!  Sophie received him on Christmas morning, and seems to have taken a liking to him.  Deep down this makes me very happy, because I had a bear I was completely attached to when I was little.  Truth be told, I was attached to him for way longer than that and my dad built a box for him once I was old enough not to sleep with him.  I was very creative as a child and his name was Bear.

Knit from a Debbie Bliss pattern in Simply Baby out of Baby Cashmerino yarn.  I liked the pattern and actually thought it was a good jumping off pattern into shaping.

5 Responses to “Bear”

  1. barefootrooster March 13, 2010 at 12:15 pm #

    this is an adorable bear. if you’re looking for more toys/animals, there is an elephant named elijah that i think this one of the cutest knits ever…are you on ravelry? here is a rav link to the pattern:

    http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/elijah

    • theladybird March 17, 2010 at 2:28 pm #

      Oh my isn’t he the cutest little thing! Thanks for sharing this with me. Ysolda came to C’Ville for several classes at the LYS, but it was when I was still figuring out the different between knit and purl, so I did not attend. 🙂 I really like her patterns. Have you made any?

  2. Maria Rose March 13, 2010 at 6:15 pm #

    I think that is a great bear and you have such a cute little one too!

  3. Peggy March 16, 2010 at 11:08 pm #

    Oh, my goodness! What an adorable bear! I’ll bet she will love and cherish it for a long time.

  4. Tyya August 31, 2014 at 12:58 am #

    I’m out of league here. Too much brain power on dialysp!

Leave a Reply

