Skirt becomes dress

13 Apr

I mentioned a few items escaped the thrift store pile while I was cleaning out my closet.  I got this skirt from my sister on one of my trips to see the fam. Thanks Mar! I love the plaid and wore it a few times, but I felt like if I did not wear just the right shirt with it, it hit my hips at a funny place.

.

My lady, however, has no hips, so she was in luck 🙂

For those interested, here is how I made the dress body: I measured the circumference needed to fit around Lady’s chest and added seam allowances.  She is a skinny three year old and this measurement was 22 inches with seam allowances.  Then, I laid the skirt on the table with the zipper on the side  (instead of in the back as it was on the adult skirt) and measuring from the zipper point I marked 11 inches to either side of the zipper.  With a fabric marking pen, I drew a slight A-line out from the top of the waistband to mimic the right side of the skirt.  I cut off everything to the left of the marked line 11 inches from the zipper.  (What I cut off then became the straps.)  I sewed up the remaining side of the skirt opposite from the zipper and tried it on the lady.

The straps: I had Lady hold the dress body while I measured how long I would like the straps to be in order to keep her decent and still comfortable.  For some reason, this was very tricky for me even though it should not have been.  I poked her twice with pins which she continually reminded me of and would not put the dress on again for two days.  She finally relented when I assured her there were no more pins.  Then, I had to shorten the straps TWICE because I could not get them correct the first or the second time.  I digress.     When all was said and done, eventually, I believe the straps were about 10 inches long by 7 inches wide.   I folded the straps in half lengthwise with right sides together.  At both ends, I drew a slightly curved line so the sleeves would look more like cap-sleeves.  Then, I trimmed around the curved line. I sewed the opening closed.  Turn and press.  Fold the bottoms of the straps up to create a clean edge.  Pin to the very top of the inside of the dress and sew to secure.  With any luck you will have measured correctly the first time and with great joy you will be done!!!!

This was the first time I turned on my sewing machine in a long time. It felt so good to start with a quick project!!

(If you have questions, regarding my explanation just let me know and I will be happy to answer them.)

5 Responses to “Skirt becomes dress”

  1. Sarah S April 14, 2010 at 9:27 am #

    It turned out so cute! Wonderful!

  2. Maris Rose April 14, 2010 at 11:29 am #

    Wow that is great. I have been working on a similar project and you’ve inspired me to get back to it!

    • Lola August 30, 2014 at 11:11 am #

      Well I guess I don’t have to spend the weekend finigurg this one out!

  3. Kristin April 14, 2010 at 4:00 pm #

    AMAZING Katie. I love it and am so inspired!

  4. Bethany April 15, 2010 at 8:40 pm #

    You. Are. Incredible.

Leave a Reply

