The beginning of a hat

15 Apr

A hat for the baby …

I wanted to make something for him or her.

I wanted to knit in the round.

I wanted to learn how to use double pointed needles.

” Every knitter stitches with love, even when they’re just starting, all red-faced and frustrated.  Why else would we create?  Especially in a world that doesn’t need homemade anything.  That’s when we need homemade everything.    Kate Jacobs, The Friday Night Knitting Club.

(I finished this book a long time ago, I just saw it on the shelf the other day and was reminded of this quote as I was knitting.  Book was average at best, but I could not agree with the sentiment of the above quote more. We all need a little something unique, crafted, purposed in our life!)

2 Responses to “The beginning of a hat”

  1. cornel April 16, 2010 at 3:16 am #

    Couldn’t agree more. I would go as far to say that the unique and the crafted is part of what gives life purpose. Can just imagine how sweet the little one will look in his/her knitted hat. C x

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Hi Monday! « Lady Bird - April 26, 2010

    […] am almost done with the baby’s hat.  Two weeks ago, I dropped a stitch in the rapid rows of decreases and I wasn’t sure how to […]

Leave a Reply

