A Lace Scarf for Mom

19 Apr

When I showed a lady at the knitting store, she told me it looked like gorgeous seaweed.

I love you mom!  Enjoy!

My mom had a birthday earlier this month.  I have never knit her a present, and I knew I wanted to this year!   Since her birthday is in April, I did not want to make it a scarf to keep her warm, but rather a scarf that was much more jewelry like that she could use throughout the summer.  She has some absolutely wonderful jewelry, so I thought this genre of knit would fit right in to her style.

It is made out of Berroco Seduce, and is knit in a very simple lace pattern.

The Pattern:

  • Cast on 24 stitches.
  • Knit one. Yarn over, Knit two together until one stitch remains. Knit the last stitch.
  • Repeat until the scarf is as long as you desire.
  • Bind off slightly loosely

9 Responses to “A Lace Scarf for Mom”

  1. barefootrooster April 19, 2010 at 7:26 pm #

    gorgeous. and lovely photographs.

    • theladybird April 22, 2010 at 8:13 pm #

      Thank you! I took several pictures trying to get the light correct. Joel came home and pushed a couple buttons and got it perfect the first time. I was humbled!

  2. cornel April 21, 2010 at 6:12 am #

    This is beautiful! Your mom’s so lucky. I bought some kid mohair in an olive colour that would look great in this pattern. Thanks for sharing! C x

    • theladybird April 22, 2010 at 8:12 pm #

      Let me know if you make anything in this pattern, please!

  3. cornel April 23, 2010 at 3:03 pm #

    Hi! I just started knitting your scarf in the kid mohair (amazingly fine), but in a lilac colour (beautiful). Question: am I supposed to knit (k) every alternate row, before I do the yo k2tog? I’ve done exactly that and the emerging pattern is reaslly awesome. C

    • theladybird April 23, 2010 at 8:21 pm #

      For the scarf pictured, I did not knit every other row. But, I am sure the pattern you described would be beautiful! I did the yo k2tog every row for the entire scarf. Let me know what you decide! Have a great weekend! k.

  4. cornel April 24, 2010 at 3:40 am #

    Thanks for letting me know. The yarn I’m using is very lacy, so knitting the alternate row works VERY well. I would love to do just a little sampler in a double knit and do it exactly like you did. It’s a long weekend for us and the kids, so I have a bit of extra spare time for knitting (because of your scarf post) and crochet (because I’m addicted). I’ll post some pics of my scarf on Monday. Have a good w/end, C x

  5. cornel April 27, 2010 at 11:33 am #

    Hi Katie! I started with a sampler of the scarf and liked it so much that I just kept going. What a nice texture and it couldn’t be easier! Thanks for this post. C x
    PS When’s your mom’s birthday? Mine was yesterday – the 26th. I got a tripod from my husband and have been playing with it (my camera obviously attached) in-between knitting your scarf and crocheting a hat! Can’t wait to see the finished hat for the baby.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Yarn along + Everyday Beauty (the challenge) « - August 31, 2011

    […] I forget to ever put it on my blog.  I wear this scarf all the time.  Pattern is the one I shared here.    As I was learning to knit and slowly making my way through Sophia’s knit blanket I kept […]

Leave a Reply

