In anticipation

10 May

of a sweet baby boy due in June, I made this quilt for a baby shower last weekend.

The little boy is due to arrive in June. He is positively going to be so handsome.  His parents are pretty amazing people, and we are blessed to have them in our lives.

Finished quilt measures 34 x 40 and is backed in a minky blue. The two outer rings of blue are each 4 inches wide whereas the gray stripes are 2 inches wide.  The darkest blue center square is 12 x 16.

As a random aside: the green baby hat mentioned in previous posts … I was feeling the hat decreased too quickly and thus would not fit the baby’s head the way I wanted it to. So, I went to knitting class and ended up coming home with less knitting than I went with, which Joel felt was pretty counter productive.  I, however, got a great lesson hands-on lesson in picking up stitches! I knit another inch to the existing body of the hat and am now ready to decrease, again.  Someday, soon I hope, I will be showing you the finished hat.

Here’s hoping your Tuesday is wonderful.

3 Responses to “In anticipation”

  1. xo.sorcha.ox May 13, 2010 at 12:51 am #

    A wonderfully simple quilt! Great work! 🙂
    ~S.

  2. cornel May 14, 2010 at 3:27 am #

    It’s wonderful to hear you’re expecting a boy! And thank you for always leaving a kind comment on my blog. I have at least 6 friends who are either knitting or just finished with the pattern you used for your mom’s scarf. Everybody loves it!

    • theladybird May 19, 2010 at 10:24 am #

      Cornel,

      I did make it sounds like it was us who was expecting the boy – however the pictured quilt was for dear friends! We still do not know what we are expecting. We like to be surprised! Hope all is well!

      k.

Leave a Reply

