Hazy.

9 Jul

It has been ridiculous hot & humid here recently.  Hazy is really the only word for it.  I have had to take the girls out before 10:30 in the morning simply because any later in the day and it is too hot to move.  These are the perfect days to drink iced coffees (the girls sneak sips as long as their dad isn’t home, shhhhhh …. don’t tell), set up elaborate train tracks down the hallway and longfully wish for a hammock on the water’s edge.  I have been listening to Andrew Belle and reading Anne of Green Gables.  I am not sure how I never read it at as a little – but, alas, I didn’t and it is delightfully charming now.

I am thinking about swaddling blankets for the baby that can be used at the end of summer.  Sophia was swaddled ALL the time, in flannel, but, it was also January then.  I came across these and love the idea of muslin’s breath-ability. These might be one of the only things I need to purchase before the baby arrives.   Thoughts?  Suggestions from summer time moms greatly appreciated.  (If any of you know where I could find charming printed muslin I am all ears.)

Hope all is well in your neck of the woods.  Here’s to the coming rain or more iced coffees whichever comes first.

5 Responses to “Hazy.”

  1. Katie July 10, 2010 at 10:09 am #

    Someone gave me these exact swaddling blankets for Luke and I LOVED them! The blankets are nice and big so the babes can be swaddled in them for a long time. The muslin gets really soft and is excellent for swaddling. I highly recommend! I think you can actually find them at some Target stores.

    • theladybird July 14, 2010 at 9:58 am #

      Katie,

      Thanks SO MUCH for your comment. The ones from Target are great and are cheaper! I will order them as soon as we find out if it is a little girl or a little boy. In the meantime, I will get a couple white ones.

  2. cornel July 12, 2010 at 3:22 am #

    The natural muslin blankies look like a winner! Wish I had known about them 5, 7 and 14 years ago! Good luck with the choosing! C x

  3. Elizabeth July 13, 2010 at 2:17 pm #

    I had Stella at the end of July and we were given a handmade swaddle blanket from a dear friend. I am not sure of the fabric but it was breathable and super-super stretchy. It was just the fabric with the edges sowed, but it was the best! Stella didn’t end up liking the swaddle blankets that were made for swaddling, so this one was perfect. I am sure you could go to the fabric store and find something stretchy and breathable!

    • theladybird July 14, 2010 at 9:58 am #

      Hope all is well Elizabeth! Thanks for visiting my blog again!

Leave a Reply

