The Consolation

27 Jul

The first week at August’s was a consolation, a pure relief.  The world will give you that once in a while, a brief time out; the boxing bell rings and you go to your corner, where someone dabs mercy on your beat-up life.  – Sue Monk Kidd, The Secret Life of Bees (p.82)

Last week was our consolation.  Our time out, our much needed time out, was given.  After many months in the job market, Joel accepted a job offer on Monday.  The job means we are moving. At first, this was scary.  It is not far; it is just unknown and we had just walked through three months of unknown.  Signing up for more unknown was a big gulp to swallow for someone who really does better with consistency.  When all was said and done, we really believed this job was a blessing from God, and we are excited about beginning this new chapter for our family.  He begins his new job in Northern Virginia next Monday.  Yes, we are moving on the day I am 37 weeks pregnant and yes, I promise I will not lift any box too heavy.

The day after he accepted the job offer, a house came on the rental market that would be a dream come true.  The house is less than two miles from his new job.  Northern VA traffic is a beast I did not particularly want him to have to deal with every day.  It was listed at a price we could afford and it is pretty to boot.  Currently, our bathrooms have a range of yellow and green tiles accented by vertical stripped tassel wallpaper.  Our current landlady was surprised at my face when we first saw the house and I was shocked – she actually picked the wallpaper. For the record she is a wonderful lady, we just have very different taste.   Our current house has filled our needs; it is conveniently located, and allowed us to trim our budget so I could spend everyday with my kids.  For that reason, I love this house – but, we are rapidly outgrowing it.  Lastly, our new house is a single family home with a fenced in backyard.  I cannot express my joy about this.  Lady has already asked if she will be allowed to go in the backyard by herself.  Joel drove up the day it went on the market and we were renters the next day.  Oh, happy day!

Now, we are packing and trying to set up a new life while simultaneously trying to wrap up a life we really liked in a town we really like with friends whom we are blessed to know.  This week was a relief, one in which we felt like we could breathe a little bit deeper.  I am convinced God has worked all this for our good and His love never fails for that I am almost brought to tears when I think about the past three months of our life.

(The Secret Life of Bees was a great book – I highly recommend it)

5 Responses to “The Consolation”

  1. Kelly July 27, 2010 at 9:49 am #

    Kate,
    We have been keeping tabs on you through Mar and your Mom. We were thrilled to hear about the new job, house, etc…. I really want details, I will call soon. Miss you!
    Kel

  2. Danielle July 27, 2010 at 10:00 am #

    I’m so thrilled and relieved for you!! I can’t wait to come see your new place. It’ll be wonderful to have the backyard for the girls to play! I wish I could get away to come move the heavy boxes for you!!! Love you!!

    Danielle

  3. xo.sorcha.ox July 27, 2010 at 10:26 pm #

    Congratulations on Joel’s new job, and best of luck with the move! Sounds like some exciting changes ahead. 🙂
    ~S.

  4. Miss Emily July 30, 2010 at 6:48 pm #

    My Darling Miss Kate–
    I am so very happy for you!!! The girls are sure to love a beautiful new house with a big backyard—and a relief for mommy!! Congrats to Joel, and please let’s chat when you have a moment to breathe—love you!!!
    Em

  5. cornel August 5, 2010 at 2:20 am #

    So happy that things are working out the way you like. Thinking of you! C

Leave a Reply

