{Thoughts on this first Fall day}

22 Sep

:::The 2011 Masden bicycles came out today.  What a blue beauty!!! *Swoon* I have this grandiose dream to transport my gaggle to market, or the library in this looker.  Considering you have to put a little hip into the closing of the car door on Sophia’s side since adding the third car seat – I may be closer to my wish than I think.  The real question, of course, is would Sophia actually stay sitting in the seat. There are seat belts in the bucket, but that has never stopped my boogity before ….

(For those of you interested, this dream also involves living in a place where there are still dirt roads to ride bikes on.  And, water to swim in.  And fields for the girls to frolic in.  Every once in a while a miniature donkey get thrown in there, but the look my husband shoots me always makes the mention of farm animals short lived.)

::: The girls are obsessed with The Sound of Music.  Particularly , the yodeling puppet song.  They have quite a dance to go with it.

:::I woke up Sunday morning with an incredible urge to rummage through my fabric to see if I had something with which to begin a lovey blanket for Eva.  Fabrics have been found, washed and ironed.  Now for a few minutes to cut the strips.

:::As I was looking for Eva, I found a piece of corduroy in just the color I wanted for a fall frock for Sophie.  I guess it had been so long since I sewed anything at all, all my fabric was new to me again.  Then, I saw this version at Pink Picket Fence.  Just my style.

:::Fall is here today.  Crisp weather.  Pumpkin Spice Lattes. Apple picking.  Sweaters.  Boots. Soups. Knitting and the anticipation of a wood fire in our fireplace.  Today is 90 degrees, but I am overlooking that and seaming a sweater together just because my heart is in fall mode.  I have always liked fall, but this year I think I am most anxious for it.  The past summer was full of so much transition; I think I am ready to move into the season of just getting our legs steady again.

Until next time, thanks for stopping by.  Have a great beginning to a new season, dear friends!

2 Responses to “{Thoughts on this first Fall day}”

  1. Maria Rose September 22, 2010 at 5:32 pm #

    Oooo I love that bike!

  2. barefootrooster September 22, 2010 at 5:55 pm #

    i’m swooning over that bike too — and i hear you about dirt roads, places to frolic, farm animals…right when i moved here, i saw a post on craigslist — an alpaca for 100 dollars. i might have actually considered keeping him in my backyard…

    can we see the fabric you’re using for the blanket?
    happy fall to you.

Leave a Reply

