into the space bags

18 Oct

Last week, we were buried in piles of clothes. Clothes that were too small, too big, not the right season, and ones destined for the thrift store.  I tackled the task of sorting all the clothes in the girl’s dressers this weekend, putting them in their respective space bags and getting into their dressers clothes for the fall and winter.  I always seem to forget this also requires having all the laundry done and having the girls try on lots of clothes.  I am finishing sealing them up today.  The girls have abandoned the fun of helping me and they are making necklaces out of beads.   Before I would have saved anything I thought we may use again.  This time I tried to apply my new motto: If you don’t love it, or have a use for it; pass it on.  I am not naturally good at this.  My mom can make a reason to save anything.  She is a great repurposer and I can still hear her voice in my head saying “you never know when you may need it again”.  While many times I have been grateful for all this things she has saved,  Joel and I  have moved three times in the past five years, four if you count moving out of college the spring before we married.  Right now, I am in the ‘pass it on stage’.

And, a few random tidbits:

We had the remaining donuts from yesterday’s treat for breakfast this morning.  The girls were thrilled with me.  Now, if someone could show up with a Dunkin Donuts Mocha cuppa goodness for me this morning!

Eva officially slept through the night last night!  I fed her before I went to bed and she did not wake up until twenty minutes after six.  Oh, so happy …..

Someday, I would like to live in a house with one of these.

One Response to “into the space bags”

  1. Maria Rose October 18, 2010 at 11:47 am #

    I have been going through my daughter’s clothes as well! Big job!!

Leave a Reply

