1.11.11.

11 Jan

Well, hello!   I apologize for taking such a long and unexpected blog break. I am glad to be back in this space. If I could, I would reach through cyberspace and give you a hug the size Mr. Snowman is getting right about now!   Our computer, that we upload all photos onto, was experiencing some trouble and ultimately bit the dust.   Then, I was just trying to regain our family momentum from Christmas and traveling. And, here I sit on 1.11.11 and realize it has not been since early December that I have been here.  Oh my.

It has given me some time to think about 2011.  Sure we can make changes at any point in the year, so all the hoopla surrounding NEW YEAR’s resolutions  can be a little hyped up.   But, I really do like the time to reflect on the passage of time and think about who I would like to be and personal traits.   For the first week of the New Year, I kept asking Joel if he had any New Year’s Resolutions.  He didn’t.  So, I took it upon myself to make one for him.  Now, before you go and say to yourself “Whoa, I am glad I am not married to her”.  The resolutions for him was really quite simple: to get the overwhelming number of cds we keep in the car into some manageable system.

I have been going back and forth about my own changes. I, in my very heart of hearts, am a planner. I like this quiet, meta-cognitive thought the New Years seems to evoke.   So, without further ado, a set of Lady Bird resolutions:

  1. Drink more water. This one is pretty self explanatory.
  2. Work really hard not to raise my voice to the girls.  I have noticed certain situations & times of the day trigger me to speak too loudly or too harshly to the girls.  I don’t like this about myself.
  3. Return emails MUCH more promptly.  Whoa.  This is a huge one for me.  If you email me, let me take this time to apologize to you.  I check my email during lunch or the such – this doesn’t really lend itself to me sitting and typing a thoughtful response to said recipient.  I want to type you a nice email back.  But, then a diaper needs to be changed.  On the way up the stairs, toys need to be returned to the playroom.  Once, the diaper is changed and the toys returned to the playroom,  someone asks if I want to play Barbies.  As you can see, email just keeps getting pushes farther and farther down my list.  It is what it is, but nevertheless, I would like to find time to write you back.  If you are waiting for a response, or return phone call from me, all I can say is I am sorry & I am working on figuring out how to fit this into my daily routine.
  4. Be kind to myself.  Lastly, this one I am borrowing from a friend.  Rooster, I hope you don’t mind; it is the perfect resolution in so many ways.

Be well, dear friends.  I will see you soon!

2 Responses to “1.11.11.”

  1. barefootrooster January 11, 2011 at 3:45 pm #

    of course i don’t mind! would that everyone was able to follow through on being kind/good to themselves. it has been at the top of my list for the last few years because it is so hard to do. glad you’re back in this space. xo.

  2. Maria Rose January 11, 2011 at 4:31 pm #

    Glad you are back! Your resolutions sound great!

Leave a Reply

