fire + soup = happy me

26 Jan

Happy Wednesday to you!  It has been chilly here.  Very chilly, just as it has been everywhere. We are burning through our wood for the season quicker than we thought we would.  If it stays this cold, we will have to investigate getting more.  I love having fires in the evening.

A couple nights ago, we re-watched Braveheart.  I had warmed milk and honey with cinnamon and I picked back up a sweater I was working on, and then seemed to have forgotten about.  I have one more side to seam up, buttons to sew on, and then block.  Whether it will still fit my bird will be iffy.  If not, Evie will have a sweater all her own come this fall.

I have been craving soup.  Recently, we had Chicken & Dumplings.  Last weekend we had Pasta Fagioli.  I am planning on making this one soon.  Joel would not like this soup very much.  He, however, is traveling to India for work.  This works out very well for the both of us.

Yes, India.  I know.

Do any of you have soup recipes you really like?  I am in need of some more inspiration.

{I also did a little blog work – a new header, a new format.  I am pretty happy}

6 Responses to “fire + soup = happy me”

  1. xo.sorcha.ox January 26, 2011 at 8:26 pm #

    Soup in winter is the BEST! I am an absolute soup-fiend when it is cold out too. 🙂 As I’m vegeterian, my favourites include potato and leek, red lentil dahl, and my nanna’s recipe for tomato soup (all on my blog).
    Here, it is not cold. Outside it feels like a furnace, in fact! It has rarely got below 35*C here for the past month…
    Enjoy the cold + the soup! 😉
    ~S.

    • Katie January 26, 2011 at 9:59 pm #

      I LOVE soups! Unfortunately Keith is not the biggest fan (not filling enough) but I can usually get away with giving him a sandwich or bread as well. I have a delicious recipe for a chicken taco soup that our whole family loves 🙂

  2. Addison January 30, 2011 at 6:38 pm #

    Hello Mam!

    I am with you on the soup cravings this season! I have a GREAT recipe for African Peanut soup. It is creamy, filling, easy, and delicious! Let me know if you’re interested, and I’ll dig up the recipe. I also got a great Chicken and Wild Rice soup recipe from my mom.

    Let me know if you want ’em and I’ll pass them along. Hope you all faired through the snow ok!

    Love,
    Addison

    • Magda August 29, 2014 at 7:36 pm #

      You’re the one with the brains here. I’m wahictng for your posts.

  3. cornel January 31, 2011 at 2:18 am #

    Hi Katie!
    Love your blog’s new look. Lovely to see what you’ve been up to. The doll you made for Eva is adorable. Even in summer (here in South Africa) I love to make a logfire. Think I got addicted to them last winter…
    Anyway, hope to hear from you soon. C x

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The lay of the family room land « - February 2, 2011

    […] I made the soup I mentioned in this post.  It was […]

Leave a Reply

