The lay of the family room land

2 Feb

One more day until Joel returns from India.  Today, there was a break in the weather, but otherwise it has been cold.  This is what the family room floor has looked like most of the evenings while he has been gone.

A gauge swatch, before I begin a little something for the Lady.

A book I was pining for after finishing its predecessor.  The Girl who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest is the third, and final book in the series.  I was checking the library holds list daily, waiting for my number to come up because I knew I needed it before Joel traveled to India and it would be quiet after the girls went to bed.  I finished The Girl Who Played with Fire before he left, and  I actually admitted to my husband I was bored when it ended and this one had not come up on the library holds list.

Snugly blankets for DVRd shows.  The girls have really liked Bubble Guppies, a new show on Nick JR.

The only things missing are the girl’s new ballerina Barbies from Nana and Eva practicing her rolling.

Life has been pretty good while he has been traveling.  Nana came to stay for two nights and dear friends from Charlottesville came after that.  Five kids for an overnight play date is pretty awesome.  (Kris, I will upload the photos soon)   Tonight, we are having a little movie date.  The girls searched Netflix Instant Queue and chose a Ballerina movie  to go with their Twizzlers from the grocery store.  I did, however, need to get juice out of the carpet going upstairs.  Moral of the story: Vinegar is amazing.  Hunny, Sophaloafie has a new rule in her world: juice only at the table ……

Oh, I made the soup I mentioned in this post.  It was delicious.

One Response to “The lay of the family room land”

  1. Kristin February 7, 2011 at 2:43 pm #

    Hey Kate! Love this post 🙂 Thank you so much for such a great visit: for amazing soup, dessert, wine, conversation, modern family, and lots of fun for the kids. Can’t wait to see you again soon!
    p.s. thank YOU so much for sending us home with leftover soup. What a great surprise. And Jon is loving his new hat.
    Miss you guys!!!

Leave a Reply

