the frogging of a thing

15 Feb

Remember all that vest progress I told you about last week?  Well, the very same day I made bread and forgot to add the yeast, I realized I had also been knitting the pattern incorrectly. I got to where I was suppose to begin the armholes, and I had not added the garter border to the edges.  After I finished the bottom border, I was just excited about the soothing-ness of stockinette stitch.  Knit a row, purl a row, knit a row, purl a row.  I can do that.  So, I jumped right in.  When I went to check the decrease numbers, I realized the edges did not have a border as they were suppose to.   I took stock of my options:

  1. Do nothing, but not really like the end result.
  2. Knit an additional border and seam it to the existing pieces once I was done knitting.
  3. Pick up the stitches along both ends and add a garter stitch border.  This would then have the stitch direction be perpendicular to the rest of the knitting.
  4. Rip out what I had already knitted and begin again.

After a modern day knitting circle phone call to a friend, I decided to rip out what was already done and begin again. There is something therapeutic about knowing something is not quite right and deciding not to continue with it.  I could have added stitches, made it work.  This, however, would have added width to the circumference and potentially had design issues.  Really, it was a question of what I would be happy with when all was said and done.

The whole idea of knitting circles and learning from on another – such a great way to do life, don’t you think?  People with more knowledge helping others, the shared task & most importantly the friendship.  Joel and I have been having many conversations about the necessity for a community no matter where you physically live.  It is interesting how for generations these were just an ingrained part of life.  Men needed other men to bring in the harvest.  Women needed other women to can enough tomatoes to see their families through the winter months.  Sure, our life is not devoid of modern day instances of these moments.  Now, through good ole cell phones they can take on the challenges of distance.  The heart is really still the same though, we all need others to do life.

2 Responses to “the frogging of a thing”

  1. barefootrooster February 15, 2011 at 11:58 am #

    thanks for these lovely thoughts on the importance of community — i need to remind myself of this. i set aside the reading to spend time with other grad-student-friends this weekend, and it did wonders for my spirit. happy knitting!

  2. Maria Rose March 4, 2011 at 11:36 am #

    I have been learning the patience of the re-do as well. It definitely pays off!

Leave a Reply

