Knits in action & the beginning of a list

10 Mar

My sweet Ella wearing her new vest.  She loves it, and I love that.

I decided to begin reading her chapter books. We began with Charlotte’s Web this morning.  She sat next to me on the floor, trying her hardest to be still.  When Mr. Arable went out “to do away with the pig”, she loudly proclaimed that wasn’t very nice.  {Silly me was actually worried about having to ease her through this part of the book} Then, we got to the naming of Wilber.  Well, Ella didn’t want a boy pig.  And, no girl pig could be called Wilber.  She announced she would change his, now her, name to Tuttie.

….

I have been working my way though Ann Voskamp’s book* One Thousand Gifts.  I have been giving much thought to thankfulness and gratitude lately.  I want to live my life full of these.  So with the dawning of the Lenten Season, a season to wholly embrace a thankfulness of grace and new beginnings,  the beginning of my own Eucharisto list:

::Little ones who want their mommy to read to them

::Little ones thinking & interacting with their books

::Quiet pockets of time in which to think a few precious thoughts all to oneself

::A pause to savor the fleeting

A wish for a sweet day to you my friends.  See you soon.

*(As to be expected, Ann explains all of this so much better than I ever could in her book.  I desire to take nothing away from her book, this is just a small practice to try an incorporate more thankfulness into my own day)

3 Responses to “Knits in action & the beginning of a list”

  1. barefootrooster March 10, 2011 at 3:29 pm #

    Ella looks absolutely adorable in her new vest — you did a beautiful job!

    • theladybird March 11, 2011 at 11:21 am #

      Thanks so much, Ames!

    • Jeana August 29, 2014 at 2:48 pm #

      The accident of finding this post has brhgnteied my day

Leave a Reply

