Yarn along

17 May

Oh my!  Today was a day.  I think a little wine and the gentle rhythm of some knitting might be just what I need.  My Sophie Rose put me through the ringer today, and she may or may not have been victorious.

Age two and a half brings some growing pains.  She wants to dress herself – great, I can get on board with this new independence.  She changed outfits four times today just. because. she. could. She wanted to wear her ballet slippers to Ella’s ballet class, but she could only find one.  So, she went barefoot.  Yes, yes she did.

It is days like this I need to remember slowly and slowly, moment by moment we raise our kids.  They can, will, and should have off days.  Tomorrow will begin a fresh and maybe the growing won’t hurt so much.

I am making progress on Eva’s Bluebell sweater!    I have made it through two rounds of the yoke pattern and am quite happy with how it is looking.

On the reading front: The girls chose some super cute library books at the end of last week.  (Links within the pictures.)

14 Responses to “Yarn along”

  1. barefootrooster May 18, 2011 at 7:08 am #

    that is looking GORGEOUS. love the blue, love those little cables.

    • theladybird May 19, 2011 at 11:23 am #

      Thanks my dear! I can’t wait to see more pictures of the Lake House and how you and Boh are getting settled in! When I first got the pattern, I thought they would be cables, but they are just the way the pattern is written – they are creating mock cables. I really like how it is emerging.

  2. Jarka May 18, 2011 at 8:17 am #

    wow – looks complicated… adorable shade of blue 🙂
    that book Beetle McGrady eats bugs – looks like fun reading 😀

  3. embracingitall May 18, 2011 at 8:18 am #

    The bluebell sweater looks lovely already. I have a 2 1/2 year old boy. He keeps me busy and I understand where you are at. Hope tomorrow goes a little more smoothly. I like to think rough days make for better parents in the long run. Happy knitting. Jacinta

  4. Mary G May 18, 2011 at 8:44 am #

    that sweater is lovely! I like the bit of mock cable. Fun!

  5. amanda {the habit of being} May 18, 2011 at 9:52 am #

    yeah that transition between 2 and 3 is always a doozie. just gotta roll with it because this too shall pass 🙂

  6. Swanski May 18, 2011 at 10:08 am #

    I love the blue color! The stitch definition is amazing. I hope your toddler gives you some knitting and reading time.

  7. Erin @ Wild Whispers May 18, 2011 at 10:50 am #

    We are in the yuck of an almost two year old here. I feel you. Lucky for me, she hasn’t figured out how to get her clothes on and off yet! haha! Hugs! The sweater is gorgeous and the books look delightful!

  8. Rachel May 18, 2011 at 4:04 pm #

    We are there right now with 3 1/2. So many emotions to deal with! Thank goodness there’s lots of sweetness, too!
    Beautiful blue!

    • theladybird May 19, 2011 at 11:14 am #

      Rachel,

      Thanks for stopping by! Yesterday, I got her out of bed for her nap and she smiled when I walked in the door and said I love you so much, mommmy. Moments like that just melt me!

  9. Nadja May 18, 2011 at 9:01 pm #

    Lovely sweater and pattern and a pretty color!

  10. Sarah Jane June 8, 2011 at 3:47 pm #

    That sweater is looking great!
    And I hear you about that “putting me through the ringer!” My five years is something right now. Hope we’re on the upswing!:) Good luck.

  11. Ericasue June 8, 2011 at 8:09 pm #

    That sweater is gorgeous! And having a two and a half year old myself at the moment I so understand what you are saying!

  12. cpcable June 10, 2011 at 12:00 pm #

    Such a beautiful blue for you sweater! 🙂

Leave a Reply

