There are suppose to be 58.

6 Jul

I have begun the knitting above three times, and each time I can’t make it farther than what is pictured.   The first time I was visiting my parents and my mom asked me a question in the middle of a row.  57 stitches. There are suppose to be 58.  I set it aside.

We came home.  I didn’t want to be defeated. Cast on again.  End of the row.  57 stitches.  There are suppose to be 58.  I ripped it back.

Determined. I cast on, again.  Spoke the first row aloud while Eva showed me her tooth filled grin.  I do believe  “SSK 1, SSK 2, SSK 3” sounds quite funny to my Eva.  Take that row 1.  Row 3 got me the third go round.  56 stitches.  There are suppose to be 58.  Again?  Are you kidding me????

I ripped it back.  I am not sure how long I want the story to go on repeat.  Really, I am just not sure I want to concentrate so much right now.  I think this will just have to sleep soundly for a little while, until I find something I have a little more excitement about knitting.

On my bedside table, I just brought home  The Dirty Life.  I started reading it this week.  Kimball’s writing is poetic, and so far I am really enjoying it.

:: Do any of you have any books you recommend on home canning?  I would like to learn a little bit more.

We picked our first tomato last night.  Warm from the day’s sunshine, crisp them juicy.  Summer’s perfect red.

++ joining Ginny from small things today in our love of knitting and reading with a yarn along.

5 Responses to “There are suppose to be 58.”

  1. Greer July 6, 2011 at 9:31 am #

    Dirty Life is amazing. I finished it last week.
    I just got hold of a book called A Year in A Bottle by Sally Wise, an Australian cook and author. It looks really good, and there’s a sequel that’s full of recipes using all that preserved fruit and veg.

    • theladybird July 6, 2011 at 5:54 pm #

      I just saw your review of A Dirty Life on your blog and I could not agree more. It just keeps drawing you in – wanting more of their story and more dirt under your own finger nails. Hope you have a great day. I am glad I have stumbled upon your blog today.

  2. amanda {the habit of being} July 6, 2011 at 10:48 am #

    my favorite canning books are canning for a new generation, the blue chair jam cookbook, and the river cottage book on preserves. and the dirty life is still so vivid in my mind – really hoping she writes something else and soon 🙂

    • theladybird July 6, 2011 at 5:57 pm #

      I added the Canning for a New Generation to my holds list at the library. They, sadly, didn’t have the other two, so I will have to be on the lookout for them. Thanks for the recommendations!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Anonymous - August 24, 2011

    […] haven’t been having the best knitting success lately.  First, there was the lace pattern I couldn’t keep count on.  There was one idea I just frogged because I wasn’t sure I was committed enough to keep […]

Leave a Reply

