Our Town

11 Jul

7.11.11.  I like the rhythm of the sound of today’s date.  I love to find patterns in numbers – clocks, license plates, dates.  I think I always have.  There were a time in my teenage years where I could not walk by a clock – look to see it there was a number pattern and if so, make a wish.  11:11 – the ultimate wishing minute of the day.

{Today there are also free slurpies at 7-11 today.  It’s gonna be a hot one so we are going there after nap this afternoon on the way home from the library}

I had been saving a giant cardboard box for a couple weeks now.  I got the notion of making a town.   The places the girls thought were essential for a good town include: the grocery store, the library, the ballet studio, church, the park, daddy’s work, the thrift shop, the knitting shop (for mommy), a cafe, and the neighborhood pool.

Spending another Monday in this space with my grateful list:

::falling asleep before 10 pm on Saturday and a little one who did not wake me until 7 am

:: the first *good* summer watermelon

:: clothes drying on the new line outside

:: the smell of summer that filled them when I brought them indoors

:: time for the girls to watch dad’s soccer tournament

:: the same park having a merry go round

:: noticing how much Sophie has grown since last year by riding the horse without my help

:: baked oatmeal topped with fresh blueberries

:: finishing One Thousand Gifts with a cup of tea on a rainy afternoon in the quiet

:: the way in which Eucharisteo is challenging me to my inner being, making me want to be a person of gratefulness

For these moments, these pauses, the grace of God in the moment, I am so thankful.

If you are inspired, leave me one (or more) grateful moments in the comments, either link or list.  I would love to see them!  Happy Day, friends!

4 Responses to “Our Town”

  1. toshowthemjesus July 11, 2011 at 4:47 pm #

    Love the idea of making a town-so fun! My boys only like drawing race tracks:) Baked oatmeal sounds yummy! I’ll have to track down a recipe. Thanks for sharing your list!

  2. erin @ Wild Whispers July 11, 2011 at 5:23 pm #

    I have to try the baked oatmeal… all over the blogosphere, I keep hearing of this phenomenon! Sounds yummy! Also “the way in which Eucharisteo is challenging me to my inner being, making me want to be a person of gratefulness” cut me to the core. That is how I was at the beginning following reading the book. As is wont to happen, I have gotten away from that life. I need to come back to it, there is so much joy in it that it’s indescribable!

  3. Rachel July 12, 2011 at 3:07 pm #

    That town sounds just perfect – everything I could ever wish for in a town! I love those reminders to gratefulness – and the smell of line-dried clothes!

Leave a Reply

