Tomatoes in a Row

18 Jul

The tomatoes are ripe. The girls have been eating the cherry tomatoes faster than I can find them on the plants for about a week now.  But just Friday the first big tomato was ready for picking.  Saturday evening I came in with a handful of five tomatoes.  After savoring the delicious tomato smell that only comes when you have just picked it off the vine, I promptly cut it up, added goat cheese, and enjoyed.

This weekend was a true delight.  Friday afternoon all of my girls were extra snugly.  The Friday Nights Lights series finale was on – and it might have been one of my all time favorite finales.  Clear eyes.  Full Hearts.  Can’t Lose.

The older two girls left Saturday morning for a week of Nana Camp.  They were ecstatic the past week leading up to this weekend about all the things they are going to do while visiting Nannie and Poppa.  They have plans to go to Water Country; Sophie told me she was going to show everyone how she can swim. They are also going to the Virginia Living Museum to see the touch tanks.  I already know they are coming home with a hermit crab.  Oh my.   Evie has been soaking up every. single. moment of mom and dad’s undivided attention.  My sweet Evie, how I love you so.  I wandered aimlessly around the house for the first two hours they were gone.  Then, the thought struck me I better do something because as soon as they shock of my helpers not being around hits; I might not get anything done.

We went to a Saturday evening church, a couple thrift stores, and watched The Lincoln Lawyer (I liked it).   This morning, I lounged in bed.  Joel and I piddled around the house with a coffee treat, and went to Lowes to find a paint color for a little furniture painting project I have worked up.

As for me, I have a little quilting plan for my solo time this week.  Joel and I have a date on the horizon.  Yes, indeed, it is shaping up to a be a good week.

For these moments:

::Evie’s clapping
::tomatoes on the sill
:: completed grocery shopping & the week’s menu planned
:: a pile of vintage sheets ready to be cut up
:: Sophie’s barrel rolls in the pool – face wet and all
:: Nana Camp excitement
:: surprising quiet in the middle of the day

For these moments, these pauses, the grace of God in the moment, I am so thankful.

If you are inspired, leave me one (or more) grateful moments in the comments, either link or list.  I would love to see them!  Happy Day, friends!

15 Responses to “Tomatoes in a Row”

  1. Maria Rose July 18, 2011 at 10:56 am #

    My sweet girl has been eating the strawberries as fast as they will grow!

    • theladybird July 19, 2011 at 10:48 am #

      Those sounds delicious. Were you able to plant them in time at your new house?

  2. Danielle July 18, 2011 at 12:19 pm #

    Those tomatoes look delish!

    • theladybird July 19, 2011 at 10:49 am #

      Thanks! Pretty soon, I am going to have to get creative about how to serve them, or learn to can. Ha!

  3. Beck July 18, 2011 at 1:18 pm #

    I love Nana camp! My big boy came back from his turn a couple of weeks ago, he soaked it all up with joy! Beautiful gift list, enjoy your quiet week!
    http://beckfarfromhome.blogspot.com/2011/07/basket-full-of-thanks-mondays_18.html

  4. amanda {the habit of being} July 18, 2011 at 2:39 pm #

    i wish my mom offered a grandma camp 😉 glad to know you liked the lincoln lawyer…been tempted to get it from redbox.

    • theladybird July 19, 2011 at 10:56 am #

      Joel’s mom is quite sweet to us, and I thankful for that. My mom actually lives too far away to offer Nana Camp.

      The Lincoln Lawyer had a better plot than I was expecting – definitely better Matthew McConaughey than normal.

      Hope you are feeling well in this heat!

  5. Rachel July 18, 2011 at 3:32 pm #

    I can imagine the smell of those tomatoes. Mmm mm.
    Enjoy your quiet time!!

    • theladybird July 19, 2011 at 10:57 am #

      Yes! Someone else who appreciated the tomato smell. My husband chuckled at me when I smelled them before I cut them up.

  6. toshowthemjesus July 18, 2011 at 6:11 pm #

    I so want those tomatoes! Yum! So great that you get time to yourself and with your husband. Great blessings!

    • theladybird July 19, 2011 at 11:01 am #

      It is funny about the quiet: I yearn for it when they are all wild and rambunctious, but I find myself listening for the noise when I am home alone …..

  7. xo.sorcha.ox July 19, 2011 at 3:07 am #

    Wow, those tomatoes remind me of summer!
    We’re in the grib of a frosty mid-winter at the moment, and the only tomatoes available are those from the supermarket, which have no flavour of course!
    ~S.

  8. Alyssa Santos July 19, 2011 at 11:56 pm #

    absolutely one of my favorite things to eat in summer. Beautiful pictures 🙂 Blessings, Alyssa

  9. cornel July 20, 2011 at 5:19 pm #

    Just popping in to say hi. LOVE your first photo. C x

  10. katie July 21, 2011 at 11:37 am #

    tomatoes are certainly on my list…such a sweet summer favorite! have a blessed week, and enjoy more tomatoes!

Leave a Reply

