through the lens

25 Jul

Late afternoon, the sun streams above the sink sending shadows across the counter.  And, he sees me trying to snap the picture he knows I want.  He comes quietly, in the manner he does everything.  Gently looks over my shoulder, checking the aperture.  My picture is good. Yet, I know he sees through the lens what I can still only see in my minds’ eye.  He helps.  Gently, making me want to learn more.

Before I know it, I am reminded of how I am falling in love all over again. Time and time again.  Gently. Helping.  Through the lens of something much bigger.   Snapping pictures of my own with babe three resting on my hip.  The picture is certainly not the picture this time.

For these moments:

::  the lens that helps us see clearly

:: snuggling sisters watching a DVRed show they missed while at Nana Camp

:: Eva’s love of watermelon and her chipmunk cheeks full of it

:: peach jam canned in beautiful glass jars waiting for breakfast toast

:: a full shoe basket by the front door

:: air conditioning during the hottest days on record at Dulles Airport last week

:: 100 quilt squares cut

:: girls who don’t miss a beat and are currently getting out all necessary painting supplies to fulfill dad’s request of art work for his office.

For these moments, these pauses, the grace of God in the moment, I am so thankful.

If you are inspired, leave me one (or more) grateful moments in the comments, either link or list.  I would love to see them!  Happy Day, friends!

9 Responses to “through the lens”

  1. amanda {the habit of being} July 25, 2011 at 10:35 am #

    so very sweet, the little things they do for us without our asking 🙂

    and yum, peach jam!

  2. Debbie July 25, 2011 at 11:12 am #

    Love the picture…I have jams sitting in my window too right now!

  3. Stefanie Brown July 25, 2011 at 11:20 am #

    Visiting from Multitudes on Mondays…
    Love your list. Watermelon ~ yum. Peach jam ~ delicious! Air conditioning ~ praise him!!
    Thank you for sharing!
    Have a blessed day…

  4. Jennifer July 25, 2011 at 11:25 am #

    How sweet! I love that gentle help from my husband, just when I need it. ♥ Your quilt looks like it is going to be so beautiful. And you have the most adorable helper! Yay for art work for in dad’s office! 🙂

  5. Amy Sullivan July 25, 2011 at 5:31 pm #

    Visiting from Ann’s…wow, I am really liking your voice. So sweet and poetic.

    • theladybird August 9, 2011 at 5:49 pm #

      I know I am very late in responding to your comment, bit I just wanted you to know your words of encouragement meant so much from someone I don’t know. Thank you for taking the time to comment!
      Katie

  6. Maria July 26, 2011 at 1:09 pm #

    Beautiful!

  7. Rachel July 27, 2011 at 10:28 pm #

    These are wonderfully beautiful words. Thanks for sharing, Katie!
    I’m grateful for hot, soothing baths, evening sunlight, the playground across the street, and a hubby who helps to carry my load (along with his own).

    • theladybird July 28, 2011 at 8:50 pm #

      So exciting! I pray you have a safe and peaceful labor! Can’t wait to see the sweet babe.

Leave a Reply

