{for these moments}

7 Aug

Hello.  It seems every once in a while I am in need of a little quiet, and I don’t even realize it.  I didn’t mean to be absent from this space for a while, but I guess I did, in fact, need some quiet.  We spent almost a week visiting with family and then a week enjoying summer around home. The girls and I are only home for a couple days, and then we are headed to Buffalo to celebrate my sister’s bridal shower.  We celebrated a 30th anniversary and one year in our new house & job.  We are looking forward to the wedding shower and a special girl’s first birthday.  This month we will see both sets of grandparents.  August is a little busy to say the least, but in the best way possible.

Around these parts:

1. Ella got a new bike with training wheels.  We have been taking nightly bike rides/walks.  Sophie can’t peddle her tricycle yet, BUT she insists upon wearing her helmet for safety.

2.We came home from Joel’s parent’s house with fresh caught crabs and figs straight off the tree. We enjoyed crab cakes twice last week, and I made fig preserves.  Rachel – I think I am slowly getting over my canning fear.  I really want to hear about those drunken cherries you mentioned, however ….

3. I placed Ella’s quilt project on hold for a little bit until I make a couple design decisions.  I know I want Ella and Sophia (who share a room) to have similiar quilts.  I don’t have enough collected vintage sheets to make both of them each patchwork square quilts large enough for each of their beds.  I can’t decide if I would be happier to take some of the squares and add a white border to break up some of the prints and add some yardage, or if I would prefer to surf etsy until I have found enough different pieces of vintage sheets to make the quilt design I had originally thought I wanted.  I am just trying to make sure I enjoy the process as much as the finished project.

4. Speaking of enjoying the process, I began a little smocking project for Eva.  I really do love having some sort of hand work I can pick up and put down whenever I find myself with a few minutes.  Even today, Ella woke up from her nap much earlier than her sisters so she and I snuggled in my bed and I smocked on the dress for a little bit while she played ipad.

Do any of you have any ipad app suggestions that your kids love?

{she rescued an old film camera destined to the thrift store bag and asked me if she could take some pictures for my blog}

5.We took the girls to Water County last week.  Hilarious.  They embraced every single ride they were tall enough to ride.   I took Sophie on the inter-tube slide ride ten times.  She couldn’t get enough.  I wish there had been away to get a picture of her face coming down the slide making her *wooting* noise.  I am just happy I have my memory to keep a picture of her little pigtails curled up on top of the life vest hoping to go faster to get more wet.

I am been thinking about a little photo challenge for myself.  30 days. Everyday Beauty captured.  Would any of you be interested in doing it with me? Let me know if you would.

For these moments:

:: summer crab cakes

:: lake swimming

:: safety helmets

:: successful surgeries (my dad)

:: getting immersed in a dvd television show (The Good Wife)

:: listening to the girls play Peter Pan before they go to bed for a week straight

:: ponytail curls

:: painted dressers

:: sparkle red shoes picked out among ALL the shoes in the shoe department.

For these moments, these pauses, the grace of God in the moment, I am so thankful.

If you are inspired, leave me one (or more) grateful moments in the comments.    I would love to see them!  Happy Day, friends!

6 Responses to “{for these moments}”

  1. Rambling Heather August 8, 2011 at 12:24 pm #

    I love that photo of your little one capturing her toys, so sweet!! What wonderful gifts. I am learning much through counting these love notes.

    • theladybird August 9, 2011 at 5:37 pm #

      Yes! Isn’t is amazing how much you learn when you make a point to stop and be grateful for the moment! Thanks so much for stopping and saying hello.

  2. Baby by the Sea August 8, 2011 at 7:31 pm #

    It doesn’t get much better than the photo of your lady with all the Barbie ladies. Perfection.

    • theladybird August 9, 2011 at 5:29 pm #

      Thanks!

  3. Erin August 8, 2011 at 10:00 pm #

    I remember lining up all my barbie dolls like that! So cute.

    • theladybird August 9, 2011 at 5:28 pm #

      Erin, thanks for stopping by and saying hello!

Leave a Reply

