Eva’s First Birthday

22 Aug

Eva, you are a little sweetie pie.  Still incredibly attached to mama, but as the days go on I am sensing you are beginning to want to venture out on your  little bit more.   I am quite certain you will be the quiet ponderer and thinker of our little clan.  You have something figured out in that brain of yours.  A little Evie secret.    You can crawl up the stairs in the blink of an eye.  Ella is the word you say best.  Come to think of it, the only word you say,  really.  You started crawling while we were at the beach, and are happy to keep on crawling along.   Yesterday, you discovered you can walk with the help of the push toy.  I wonder how long until you are brave enough to let go.

We celebrated your birthday last night.  You had your birthday cupcake.  You loved it and ate more than I have ever seen a baby eat of their cake.  You stared at us as we sang to you.  Halfway through the song I think you caught on to the fact we were singing to you and you hammed it up – bobbing your head, raising your arms, clapping.  You helped unwrap your birthday presents.  I watched you and almost couldn’t believe how you could play along with all of us.

To me, Eva has stayed a baby the longest.  Deep down I am grateful.  I found myself hanging on a little tighter each and every day to the baby moments all the while knowing, and denying,  you are really starting to grow into a little girl.

Beautiful Eva Joy – may this year be filled with much happiness as we enjoy every day with you.  I can’t imagine life without my little koala bear.

 

3 Responses to “Eva’s First Birthday”

  1. Maria Rose August 23, 2011 at 2:49 pm #

    So sweet!

    • theladybird August 23, 2011 at 3:01 pm #

      Thanks! It was fun to celebrate her and her birthday!

  2. Rachel August 29, 2011 at 12:52 am #

    Beautiful girl! I love her gorgeous dress in the top pictures!

Leave a Reply

