Peach Jam

23 Aug

Last month while the older girls were at Nana Camp, I found peaches on sale for 52 cents a pound.  I think I yelped in the store.  We brought a large bag home and before I knew it Joel and I had eaten almost 18 peaches in two days time.  Eva and I went back to the store.  This time coming home with right around 12 pounds and canning jars.

Using the Pectin Calculator on the Ball Canning website you can customize your own jam recipe. Pretty awesome if you ask a canning novice like myself.

Peach Jam

{approximately 6 half pint jars}

  • 5 1/3 cups peaches, peeled and shopped
  • 6 Tablespoons Real Fruit Classic Pectin
  • 4 cups sugar
  • 4 Tablespoons Lemon Juice
  • 1-2 Tablespoons Butter, optional (helps decrease foam)
  1. Peel and chop peaches.
  2. In a large saucepan, combine fruit and lemon juice.  Stir well.
  3. Slowly add in the classic pectin.
  4. Add butter, if using.
  5. Bring to a rolling boil that cannot be stirred down, stirring constantly.
  6. Add all of the sugar.  Stir to combine.
  7. Bring back to a rolling boil.Boil 1 minute, stirring constantly.
  8. Remove from heat. Pack into canning jars.
  9. Process jars* in a water bath for 10 minutes.

For additional information on processing and preserving I found Canning and Preserving with Ashley English and Canning for a New Generation to be great resources.  I have also hear the Ball Complete Book of Home Preserving is helpful, but our library did not have that title.

I have made strawberry freezer jam before.  We love that.  It wasn’t until this year, that I had any inclination to try canning.  It was not as hard as I imagined.  More importantly, I see Ella reaching for the peach jam for her sandwiches instead of the berry preserves I bought at the store.  That brings a smile to my face.   I would like some refrigerator pickles before summer is out.  My cucumber plant went kaput, so I think the girls and I will head to the farmer’s market.  Our tomato plants yielded abundantly this year, but we ate or shared everything the plants gave us.  They are really beginning to taper off, and I would still like to freeze some diced tomatoes for soups this fall.  Perhaps, we will come home with some tomatoes, as well.

Leave a Reply

