{yarn along} begin again

24 Aug

I haven’t been having the best knitting success lately.  First, there was the lace pattern I couldn’t keep count on.  There was one idea I just frogged because I wasn’t sure I was committed enough to keep on knitting.  Recently, I cast on for the Clara Dress I have seen floating around Ravelry.  Yesterday, while I was watching the news reports on the earthquake, I realized I had twisted my stitches while I was joining in the round.  Yikes.  Luckily, I had not gotten too far. I guess I will begin again ….

I have had some success with a smocking project I have been working on.  I have been enjoying working on this dress.  As a bonus, it will match Eva’s bluebell sweater perfectly for this fall.

Before bed, I am currently reading A Homemade Life.  Molly Wizenberg’s stories are charming and have made me want to sit at her kitchen table and listen to her chatter away while she cooks so I can taste her stories first hand.  I finished A Dirty Life and LOVED IT! My husband is growing a little tired of me trying to work chickens into our long-term life plan or randomly sending him *pretty* chicken coops I found on pinterest.   Aside from my farmlette dreams, Kimball’s voice was infectious. I greatly appreciated the honesty with which she recounted the story of the first year on their farm.  Even though I have been joking about my chickens, her memoir illuminated the hard and cyclical aspects of farming it is easy to forget when the majority of your produce comes from the farmer’s market or the grocery store.  Although, it is still warm here, I am beginning to feel the craving for a book to curl up under a quilt with – my fall/winter reading if you will.  Suggestions, welcome – fiction or nonfiction.

Thanks for stopping by today!

++ joining Ginny from small things today in our love of knitting and reading with a yarn along.

5 Responses to “{yarn along} begin again”

  1. Erin @ Wild Whispers August 24, 2011 at 9:20 pm #

    There is a tutorial out there somewhere for fixing twisted stitches in the round like you had, but it’s only good for the first row… I will try and locate it and email you. The colour is lovely, and the smocking is amazing. That’s one thing I know I don’t have the patience for!

  2. Sarah August 25, 2011 at 10:54 pm #

    Oh, I LOVE your smocking!!! I have always loved the look of smocking and have absolutely no idea how to do it myself. I am so impressed!
    The book sounds lovely, I must look for it. I have really been feeling the desire to start some fall nesting, too 🙂

    • theladybird August 26, 2011 at 4:37 pm #

      Thanks Sarah. My mother in law taught me last summer and I have really enjoyed it. In some ways it is just like knitting – stitch by stitch and slowly the pattern emerges! Hope you have a wonderful weekend and thanks for taking a minute to leave a comment!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. {for these moments} « - August 29, 2011

    […] I ripped out my knitting and began again. […]

  2. Yarn along + Everyday Beauty (the challenge) « - August 31, 2011

    […] last week’s yarn along, my knitting progress it looks quite a bit like last week’s except the stitches are no longer twisted!!!!  I […]

Leave a Reply

