Everyday Beauty : Day 7

7 Sep

Still very slowly working on the Clara dress I (perhaps, over ambitiously) began.  If I knit while the girls are sleeping and I say the lace pattern aloud I seem to be doing ok.  Slowly, I am seeing the pattern emerge, which is quite encouraging.   I will admit this is the hardest pattern I have attempted, so I am ok with making slow progress.  If any of you have knitted this dress, could you drop me a comment?

Since it is so slow going, I cast on for a little jumper for Ella so I could have some portable knitting.  Eva is no longer content to be away from the older girls if she knows they are in the playroom.  She, long ago, figured out how to get to them upstairs.  Being with them is just too exciting to want to stay with mom who does things like laundry.  Once she is upstairs she climbs onto the rocking chair (oh my).  Don’t worry, we have since found a gate that works with our railing, so now she is finding ways to be more content with said laundry.

I am reading Pride and Prejudice.  I remember trying to read this once long ago and found the verbiage  to be so confusing.  This time I am enjoying it.  I think it was the fall reading I was looking for.  I also picked up Amanda Blake Soule’s  Handmade Home and Elizabeth Zimmermann’s A Knitters Almanac.

Today we had a friend visit who is currently living in the UK with her family for a year and it was a total pleasure seeing an old friend.  And, tonight, I get to have a birthday dinner with one of my college roommates.  I am a lucky, lucky lady today.

++ joining along with ginny and the yarn along this week.

4 Responses to “Everyday Beauty : Day 7”

  1. Tonya September 7, 2011 at 3:35 pm #

    I would like to read Pride and Prejudice as well sometime.
    Best wishes with your knitting project.
    It will be rewarding when it is done I am sure.
    Warm wishes,
    Tonya

  2. Ellen September 7, 2011 at 4:22 pm #

    Such a bright and friendly color!

  3. Erin @ Wild Whispers September 7, 2011 at 6:07 pm #

    It looks great. Slow and steady will make it happen… keep up the good work!

  4. Greer September 8, 2011 at 9:05 am #

    Always important to have a few projects on the go. Good luck with the dress – it’s beautiful and will be so worth the effort x

Leave a Reply

