Orange + Linen Quilt

8 Sep

My sister is pretty great.  She is getting married in just a couple weeks. The guy she is marrying, well, he is pretty good, too!  There will be much love, happiness, and celebration to be sure.  The girls are already talking about the dancing. And, their “marry (aka flower girl) dresses”.

For her bridal shower, I really wanted to make her something.  To be honest, I was stumped for quite a while trying to decide what would be perfect for both of them.  I decided on a quilt.  A simple design they would be able to have through many seasons of life and could change with their decor.

My sister is an orange-loving girl.  As soon as she moved into my room when I left for college, she painted over my light blue walls with an orange.  She always wears a simple stud earring.  Has a delicate necklace and great shoes.  She is my favorite shopping partner – classic style and gives you an honest opinion.  Whatever  I made for her, I wanted it to be her.  fun. classic, slightly bold.

The quilt is two pieces of cotton linen quilted in three different coordinating threads.  It was quite fun to feed through the sewing machine with no plan and watch an interesting pattern take shape.

Mar & Tim we love you!

5 Responses to “Orange + Linen Quilt”

  1. amanda {the habit of being} September 8, 2011 at 4:40 pm #

    that little bit orange is just perfection!

  2. barefoot rooster September 8, 2011 at 5:16 pm #

    katie: this is absolutely stunning. what beautiful work!

  3. cornel September 8, 2011 at 5:33 pm #

    Love the quilt and your knitting. Hope you and the girls are well … C x

  4. Rachel September 9, 2011 at 3:04 pm #

    Beautiful! I love that orange so much. What a wonderful gift.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. We’re painting the dresses pink « - September 28, 2011

    […] we flew to Buffalo for Mar & Tim’s upcoming wedding! It was quite an adventure getting here.  Bumper to bumper traffic for way to long on I495, […]

Leave a Reply

