{yarn along}

21 Sep

Earlier when I posted a tunic  I was working on for Ella, I did not see the pattern was written to knit in the round, so as soon as I posted it, I reached a stopping point until a pair of 16” needles arrived in the mail.  Once they came it has been smooth sailing.  This tunic is a nice soothing knit.  I can pick up and put down at will, and I can knit while the girls are watching their favorite show*.  I am about halfway into the second ball of yarn with two more left to knit.  She may be getting a dress instead of a tunic.  For the yoke of the tunic I kfb for all the increases.  I felt like this yarn is showing every increase. I mentioned I was reading EZ’s Knitter’s Almanac.  Elizabeth Zimmermann talks about how much she likes the M1 increase because it eliminates holes.  Inspired, I tried it on the tunic.  For this project, and this yarn, I like the M1 even less, it is leaving tiny little holes in the knit.  I am back to the kfb and I am hoping blocking straightens out the uneven areas from the increases.  Your thoughts on increases more than welcome.

*For those of you curious, the girls are very into Peter Pan right now and their favorite show  is currently Jake and the Neverland Pirates.  – We are having the most rousing family games of rescuing Tiger Lily and walking the plank.

On the reading front, well, there isn’t much actually.  I had a bunch of books check out from the library intending to look at a few things from each one: a little research on planting garlic from The Vegetable Garden’s Bible and The Knitter’s Almanac’s February Baby Sweater   I also looked through and enjoyed Jennifer Casa’s Crafting with Kids. I really like her blog, and equally enjoyed her book.  I would say the crafts are for a wide range of children and with adult help there are some Ella could enjoy.  More importantly, she just has a great approach to crafting with your kids and I liked reading her opening couple pages.

I hope you all have a great Wednesday.  If you are stopping by from ginny’s yarn along, thanks and I would like to meet you!

7 Responses to “{yarn along}”

  1. amanda {the habit of being} September 22, 2011 at 4:51 pm #

    i cannot tell you how much i love that it might be a dress rather than tunic 😉

    • theladybird September 23, 2011 at 8:04 pm #

      🙂

  2. Erin @ Wild Whispers September 22, 2011 at 10:42 pm #

    It looks beautiful! I love the color.

    • theladybird September 23, 2011 at 8:04 pm #

      Thanks! It was Ella’s choice. She is very much a pink girl.

  3. Rachel September 23, 2011 at 5:15 pm #

    Oooo, that tunic is so pretty. And my fingers are also crossed for a dress.

    • theladybird September 23, 2011 at 8:09 pm #

      Thanks Rachel, I think I am leaning that way as well.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. We’re painting the dresses pink « - September 28, 2011

    […] have been working on Ella’s dress I posted about last week.  A few of you commented that you like the dress length better than the tunic […]

Leave a Reply

