{yarn along}

12 Oct

This weekend, I went out to the garden and picked what I believe to be the last of the summer tomatoes.  I savored every bite.  As much as I love all that summer days have to offer and the abundance from the garden, I yearn for the warmth and coziness of fall.  This morning, the wind has picked up and the sky is full of October’s gray-white clouds.  As we waited in the carpool line this morning, the girls were talking about how pretty the bright red leaves were.  Roasted Root Veggie soup – I think I am ready for you! One of my favorite recipes here.

We made pumpkin snickerdoodle cookies.  I had to hide them in the pantry.  From Eva (the 1 year old) because she was relentless about pointing to them on the counter and making her “more” sign.

Joel has been traveling for work this week.  My evenings have been filled with knitting, the (older) Jane Eyre and hot apple cider.  Given my extra knitting time, I am only three (or so) rows away from finishing Ella’s jumper.  I am curious to see what it looks like after blocking.    I hopes it hides some of the increases and stretches the body out a little so it has a nice drape on her.

Yesterday, we went to the library and I picked up A Red Herring Without Mustard   I have read one of Alan Bradley books before, so I figured it was worth a shot.   I haven’t been able to find a book that has peaked my interest in the past couple weeks.  Suggestions very, very, very welcome.

What are you working on this week?

++ joining ginny this week for her yarn along.

8 Responses to “{yarn along}”

  1. Joy October 12, 2011 at 11:46 am #

    Beautiful color for the jumper! I bet it will be gorgeous after blocking.

    • theladybird October 14, 2011 at 3:38 pm #

      Thanks Joy! Hope you and your family have a lovely weekend.

  2. Erin @ Wild Whispers October 12, 2011 at 5:49 pm #

    I am so looking forward to seeing it blocked and done! good luck!

    • theladybird October 14, 2011 at 3:39 pm #

      Erin,

      I just finished the bind off last night!!! Hope you are having a great week. I loved your post about getting into the mix with the kids! Beautiful.

      k.

  3. rosina October 13, 2011 at 2:02 am #

    Sounds like you have been having a wonderful week 🙂 We are enjoying fall here to 🙂 Such a beautiful color you are knitting the jumper with to!

    • theladybird October 14, 2011 at 3:39 pm #

      It is always so different when the hubs travels, but yes, we are having a good week together us girls. Thanks for taking the time to leave a comment!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. a little length needed « - October 19, 2011

    […] have finished the jumper for Ella, and I will be able to show you soon.  It is taking a little while to dry from […]

  2. {for these moments} « - October 24, 2011

    […] her thrill at being my helper to block her dress  – she wanted to make sure was done to be said line leader today (finished pictures this […]

Leave a Reply

