Line Leader

26 Oct

The Lady had just two simple requests:

“Can you knit me something next?” and “Can it be pink?”

Yes, my lady. Yes.

As we were blocking the dress, which incidentally is Ella’s favorite part of the process because she requests to put all the pins in, she kept asking if I was sure her dress would be dry by Monday.  The day she was assigned to be the line leader at preschool.  Oh how she loves just that little bit of responsibility.  She eats it up.  She was off her rocker thrilled that it ended up being fire drill day, and she got to be the line leader two extra times that day.  All in the dress.  The pink dress.

++ joining ginny for her weekly yarn along

12 Responses to “Line Leader”

  1. Kate October 26, 2011 at 9:04 am #

    Lovely dress. And line leader 🙂

  2. Ellen October 26, 2011 at 10:11 am #

    Such a wonderful color – so glad to see her enthusiasm for helping you and wearing it! I like the simple lines of the pattern – I noticed on Ravelry you mentioned that you like kfb better. I’m still new to learning increase/decrease stitches so this is good to know. I have done M1 and I agree – not the best increase. I suppose it depends upon the pattern (and yarn).

    • theladybird October 26, 2011 at 4:20 pm #

      I tried the M1 increases while I was reading Elizabeth Zimmermann’s Knitter’s Almanac. (She kept raving about this increase) This yarn seemed to show stitch definition very well and I think it left holes in the knitting. I actually went back and closed up the holes with a needle and thread in a few places because I felt they were too visible (to me).

      Thank you for the recommendations. I actually finished Cranford this week. DId you watch Emma? That was one my absolute favorites!

  3. wordplayhouse® October 26, 2011 at 12:32 pm #

    Oh, beautiful! The dress and your girl! She chose a joyful color and you’ve captured her here in your photos so prettily.

    • theladybird October 26, 2011 at 4:20 pm #

      Thank you!

  4. Erin @ Wild Whispers October 26, 2011 at 1:42 pm #

    I LOVE IT!! Great work! She looks wonderful!

    • theladybird October 26, 2011 at 2:25 pm #

      Thanks so much, Erin!

  5. Angela October 26, 2011 at 3:03 pm #

    My daughter relishes being line leader too. I love your daughter had her new dress to wear. I love the color you chose for it.

  6. amanda {the habit of being} October 26, 2011 at 3:05 pm #

    very sweet! and she looks so very happy with her new dress 🙂

  7. Rachel October 27, 2011 at 12:52 am #

    It is so so lovely – especially on the girl. She looks thrilled in her new dress!

  8. Lori October 27, 2011 at 12:15 pm #

    so absolutly adorable, your girl and her sweet dress. 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. For these moments « - October 30, 2011

    […] little girls who love to be  line leaders […]

Leave a Reply

