Walking Sweater

9 Nov

I began this sweater after a little trip to a knitting shop while at the beach this summer.  I was just waiting until it was cool enough for the Eva to need a little backyard sweater.  Earlier this fall, I tried it on her to make sure I liked the fit and sure enough it was no longer long enough.  That is an easy fix to be sure.  But, the most wonderful thing happened.  As soon as she had the sweater on, she stood up and took her first steps – five of them with no thought that she had never even done one step before!  This might be the very best walking sweater, indeed.

To add the length, I picked up the bottom hem stitches and knit one more stockinette & garter pattern in the round and bound off again.

I seem to be too distracted, by who knows what, to get very much reading done.  I still, slowly, making my way through A Red Herring without Mustard. It seems to never leave my bedside table, which means I am only getting approximately 1.25 pages read before my eyes shut.  I am enjoying it, but already thinking about what my next read should be.  I want a snuggle under a quilt, want to keep reading more, book.

What are you reading and knitting?

+++++

joining ginny for her weekly yarn along

7 Responses to “Walking Sweater”

  1. Ellen November 9, 2011 at 10:01 am #

    I’m finding reading difficult too. I suppose it’s just too many other things to get done. The sweater is so sweet – love the neutral color and the boat neck style.

  2. swanski November 9, 2011 at 11:59 am #

    Beautiful sweater and I love the little purl ridging in the body of the sweater, simple and elegant.

  3. heather November 9, 2011 at 8:06 pm #

    This is such a lovely sweater! Well done!

  4. wordplayhouse® November 10, 2011 at 8:33 pm #

    Oh! So delicately pretty! Love. Love. Love. And what a wonderful memory associated with it.

    • theladybird November 13, 2011 at 8:42 pm #

      Thank you!

  5. Kayleigh August 29, 2014 at 7:02 am #

    Time to face the music armed with this great infmnoatior.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Blue Wyatt « - March 28, 2012

    […] is the second time I have knit this pattern.  The middle girl saw the sweater on the counter one day and asked for […]

Leave a Reply

