to read :: under a quilt

13 Dec

The Violets of March by Sarah Jio – I mentioned I was needing, wanting, craving a book to get lost in while snuggled under a quilt.  Well, this was it for me.  Definelty, an easy read, but one I enjoyed and read in less than a day and half.  It was a story within a story novel that brought together two very connected story lines through Emily, the protagonist, and a red diary she finds while visiting her great aunt.    It fit the bill for a story I could read, without thinking too much, while snuggled in front of the fire.  I don’t think I could have or would have made some of the decisions the characters did in the story, but nevertheless it kept me turning the pages.  Although it didn’t *satisfy* me in the way a superb book so often does; it was the perfect book to read this past chilly December weekend.

The Distant Hours by Kate Morton – I picked this book up after reading The Forgotten Garden earlier this year.  I am not sure what to say about this one.  There were parts I really liked and then parts that I felt dragged on and weighed the book down.  I greatly enjoyed the plot progression and thoroughly enjoyed the well developed characters, especially the Blythe sisters.  I found them interesting and each with a depth of personality.  The narration of the story changed voices.  I much preferred the omniscient voice which told all of the 1943 part of the story to Edie’s  first person present day narration.  In my opinion, Edie was the least developed character and I found myself almost annoyed at times with self chatter.  Overall, I liked the story and am glad I read it.

What have you been reading lately?

2 Responses to “to read :: under a quilt”

  1. randi December 14, 2011 at 7:51 am #

    i just started a book called before i go to bed. it’s a suspense-thriller about a lady with severe amnesia. pretty good so far. and it’s cold here so it’s read while under a quilt! 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. honey cowl « - December 14, 2011

    […] can see what I have been reading in my reading post from yesterday:  The Violets of March and The Distant […]

Leave a Reply

