honey cowl

14 Dec

After a quick start, and a very easy pattern, I thought I was full speed ahead on my green tea with honey cowl.  One Sunday, I snuggled in bed with Ella during our afternoon quiet time and was set to begin binding off.  Almost done and a stitch fell off the needle.  I thought I got all the stitches back to their happy little home and secure.  Then with 15 or so stitches left to bind off, I ran out of yarn.  Arrr.  So, I attempted to bind off with a remaining scrap piece of yarn from the ball join.  I tried to make sure all my quick fixes resulted in secure stitches and I thought I did ok.  Well, one wear into enjoying the cowl I noticed my quick fixes were not secure after all.  Last night, I did what I should have done all along: un-knit the bind off row and rip back until I had enough yarn to properly finish.  Since I spent all the time fixing my mistake, I decided I wanted to make the border a tad wider.  A couple more rounds to go and then hopefully a successful bind off and I will be good to go.

Yes. doing things the right way the first time.  A lesson I always seem to need friendly reminders about.

You can see what I have been reading in my reading post from yesterday:  The Violets of March and The Distant Hours.

I am hoping our Christmas cards arrive soon.  The girls and I have cookies to make for a holiday party at Ella’s preschool later this week.  I think that this might be the beginning of our family cookies as well 🙂

+++joining with ginny and her weekly yarn along.  thank for stopping by!

2 Responses to “honey cowl”

  1. Ellen December 14, 2011 at 10:35 am #

    Oh! That is no fun. I have my eye on that pattern – in fact have a color picked out for it already. Have to wait until after the holidays to begin since there’s so much knitting and not enough time.

  2. www.theevolvinghomemaker.com December 14, 2011 at 11:47 am #

    That is a bummer. The color is fantastic though and I am sure it will be beautiful when complete!

    🙂
    jen

Leave a Reply

