Wildwood and Wyatt

18 Jan

This sweater has been on the needles for a while. I just searched through my archives and I realize it has been at least since November which is the first time I posted about it.   I put it down around Christmas time because I wasn’t really devoting any extended time to knitting.  As we seem to settle back into more of a routine this new year my fingers are beginning to feel the itch to knit once again.  I have been working a row here and a row there as I go about my day with the girls.  I am almost ready to bind off the arms which should make knitting up the body of the sweater go a little faster.

I can feel myself beginning to wax poetic about how great it would feel to finish all my unfinished projects.  Ones that have been on the needles since November; ones that need to be ripped back and restarted; ones that just need to be seamed while they still will fit, you get the idea.

Last week, all I did was read The House at Riverton by Kate Morton.    Morton created a wonderful post WWI world where I became immersed in learning about the characters and each of their secrets.  The story weaves together the lives of the servants and those they serve.  Like Downton Abbey, but only a book.  Do you watch that show?  You really should.

I began Wildwood.  So far, so good.  I am trying to get back into our normal routine, so I am only reading a little bit here and a little bit there.  Have any of you read it?   Thoughts?

+++ joining along with ginny for her weekly yarn along

22 Responses to “Wildwood and Wyatt”

  1. Greer January 18, 2012 at 6:15 am #

    I so want to watch Downton Abbey. I’m waiting for a friend to finish it and pass it on. Good luck with the finishing.

  2. little macaroon January 18, 2012 at 6:26 am #

    I watched two episodes of season two DVD of Downton Abbey while in the UK over Christmas… and then forgot to pack it when we left! AAAAAGH! I’m going to have to wait a month or two before I can watch the rest!

  3. Kate January 18, 2012 at 6:29 am #

    I keep seeing ads for Downton Abbey and really want to watch it but it’s never on at a good time 😦 I’ll have to check out the book instead.

    • theladybird January 18, 2012 at 10:19 am #

      Kate,

      You can watch season two’s episodes online. Here is the link:
      http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/masterpiece/watch/index.html. And, if you have netflix streaming you can watch season one. So far, I have preferred season 1 to season 2, but they are both great. Let me know if you watch any of them!

  4. Tracey January 18, 2012 at 7:06 am #

    It is a wonderful feeling to get so many projects complete. I have the Housefo Riverton on my reading list, I have heard it’s wonderful.

  5. Erin January 18, 2012 at 7:49 am #

    Beautiful blue!

  6. Ruth January 18, 2012 at 9:00 am #

    Love Downton Abbey, am waiting for the third series to come to our tv’s 🙂 Have added House at Riverton to my to read list, looks very good.

    • theladybird January 18, 2012 at 10:11 am #

      Ruth,

      I am so excited to know that there will be a third season. I am guessing season 2 already aired where you live ( i saw from your blog – ireland) ….. Thanks for taking a moment to comment! Hope you have a great day!

      • theladybird January 18, 2012 at 10:11 am #

        p.s. if you like Downton Abbey you will like this read for sure!

  7. Nannie January 18, 2012 at 9:09 am #

    l am now intrigued to read Kate Morton’s book but more intrigued
    To know the story of the quilt in this cozy picture.

    • theladybird January 18, 2012 at 10:08 am #

      Per Joel’s request of a warmer quilt for winter, we settled on this beauty at IKEA. I think you would like this book – perhaps, the beach!

  8. Ellen January 18, 2012 at 9:24 am #

    The House at Riverton sounds good too. I think the covers of the author’s books are so appealing. Now if I would only read them to see if they live up to their illustrative beginnings. Glad that you’re getting back to the sweater. After a few knitted projects that have to get done first, I too hope to finish all of my other wips.

  9. Tricia January 18, 2012 at 12:34 pm #

    Downton Abbey is my favorite show…when the first season was over I just wanted to cry knowing I had to wait so long for the next season. Last night I finally had time to watch the first two episodes of the second season and Sunday can’t come soon enough! Will have to check out the book. Thanks for sharing. crunchycatholicmomma.blogspot

  10. lori January 18, 2012 at 12:49 pm #

    i want to watch this series now too! my tv watching is mostly a movie here or there, but this sounds so good! thank you for sharing. i hope you do complete your wip soon!

  11. lori January 18, 2012 at 12:51 pm #

    oh, i forgot to say, i love wildwood. it wasn’t the best story, but it’s been awhile since i read childrens novels and i was taken back to my childhood. a very fun thing. and the book itself is a thing of beauty.

    • theladybird January 23, 2012 at 5:27 pm #

      Lori,

      Your review of Wildwood is what made me get it in the first place! I love how beautiful the book is.

  12. Tonya - Plain and Joyful Living January 18, 2012 at 3:43 pm #

    We don’t have television by choice at our house, so I have been waiting for the first DVD to be returned at the library.

  13. Kerri Warmus January 18, 2012 at 4:31 pm #

    I love Downton Abbey! Have you watched Lark Rise to Candleford? It is just as delicious! I added The House at Riverton to my wish list. Thanks for sharing!

    • theladybird January 23, 2012 at 5:28 pm #

      I loved, loved, loved Lark Rise to Candleford. I watched it about a year ago and couldn’t get enough! Hope you have a good night!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Measuring Progress « - January 25, 2012

    […] week’s yarn along is almost exactly the same as last week’s  post – Wildwood and Wyatt.   So in the name of progress and my excitement for seeing […]

Leave a Reply

