Measuring Progress

25 Jan

This week’s yarn along is almost exactly the same as last week’s  post – Wildwood and Wyatt.   So in the name of progress and my excitement for seeing tangible progress I was even more encouraged to keep working on the projects I have on the needles.   I bound off the sleeves and then knit half of the back of Sophie’s Wyatt sweater.  I am hoping to sneak some quiet time be able to finish up the knitting this week and get it seamed up very soon after.

I am slowly working my way through Wildwood.  The story is beginning to pick up and I have adjusted to reading a classic fantasy genre book so we will see how I fare from here on out. I’ll be honest and say I am not loving it as much as I had hoped to, but I am enjoying it enough to keep rooting for it to pull me in.  The older two girls and  I continue to read Little House on the Prairie.  All three of us are really enjoying it.

On an unrelated note: have any of you ever made the no-knead, dutch oven loaf bread?  Warm, butter-smeared bread always sounds good to me, but I want it to be worth my time, you know?

+++ joining along with ginny for her weekly yarn along

7 Responses to “Measuring Progress”

  1. Tracey January 25, 2012 at 7:35 am #

    Beautiful knitting!
    Yes, I have made the bread and we loved it! I can no longer eat wheat, but my family can and now I think I should make them a loaf. Give it a try,I don’t think you will be sorry.

  2. Ellen January 25, 2012 at 9:24 am #

    Haven’t tried the bread, but I just got a huge dutch oven (very heavy) so making bread in it is on my to-do list.

    Such a vibrant blue yarn! Hope you get to finish it soon and post pics.

  3. Heather January 25, 2012 at 9:43 pm #

    I have made the bread in the past. We really like the artisan bread in 5 minutes as well (Mother Earth news did an article on it as well http://www.motherearthnews.com/Real-Food/Artisan-Bread-In-Five-Minutes-A-Day.aspx).

    The blue is so vibrant, and that pattern is too cute!

    Wildwood is in my queue. I hope it gets better for you.

  4. lori January 26, 2012 at 2:21 am #

    i think if it weren’t for decemberist love, wildwood would not have had the same appeal. i love the idea of the book, and the the illustrations were definetly worth the price.
    that is a very pretty blue!

  5. stitchandpurl January 26, 2012 at 9:22 am #

    Wow, what a splash of colour, great!

  6. allison January 29, 2012 at 9:19 am #

    Such crisp blue knitting! I got Wildwood from the library recently and have barely cracked it open. It came recommended but I can’t get into it at all.

    I’ve been wanting to try the dutch oven bread. I’ve had a lot of success with Artisan Bread in 5 minutes a day (http://www.artisanbreadinfive.com/2010/02/09/back-to-basics-tips-and-techniques-to-create-a-great-loaf-in-5-minutes-a-day). I’ve actually got a bowl of dough in the fridge for making challah today.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. February 9th « - February 9, 2012

    […] of creating “projects I want to finish list.  I have one side left to seam up on the wyatt sweater for Sophie and then it is all hers – just like I […]

Leave a Reply

