Moving on

8 Feb

Oh my. We have had a wonderful couple of days around the Lady Bird home.  My very best friend from high school came to visit for a long weekend which passed far too quickly.  We laughed, and cooked, and shopped, and got pedicures, and fell asleep watching movies, and then all of the sudden I needed to drive her to the airport again.

The only book I have read this week is Little House on the Prairie to the girls.   We read before nap, and we read before bed.  There were many questions, especially about why the Ingalls were afraid of the Indians. I do believe I need to brush up on some of my history.  Besides a very basic understanding about how the government kept moving the Indians father and farther west,  I  don’t think I know many (or any) of the details beyond that.  It is a good thing I picked up this book.   The Ingalls family is moving on again, and I want to know how Pa is going to build a second house in a year.

While running errands today, I found the color yarn I was looking for so I could begin a gift for someone.  Pattern  purchased.  Now, to begin clickity click!

Is anyone else feeling strange due to the winter we have (or, haven’t) had?  The calendar says winter so I want roaring fires and am planning soups for dinner.  Yet, for the past few days after nap we have gone out for a walk or bike ride.  The girls are begging to play outside.  They are hunting up rocks for their new found rock collection.  I bought daffodils at Trader Joe’s.  They are in our family room, with the fire place and me in my wool socks…..

++ joining in with ginny again this week for the lovely yarn along

19 Responses to “Moving on”

  1. Debby Emadian February 8, 2012 at 6:34 am #

    What a lovely warm colour.

    The weather seems to do strange things every where these days…over here we had a mild Christmas then we had freezing snow at the weekend and more forecast for today…we just have to ‘make hay while the sun shines’…

    Enjoy your winter sunshine…

    • theladybird February 9, 2012 at 2:30 pm #

      I have never heard that phrase before, but now I am going to try to use it!

  2. jo February 8, 2012 at 7:02 am #

    Love that beautiful orange yarn x

  3. Jessica Barden Bandelin February 8, 2012 at 7:27 am #

    We haven’t had much of a winter in MN either.
    I don’t know what to think about it.
    It’s been nice not to feel your fingers freeze the instant one leaves the house, but I guess I wouldn’t mind a little snow for sledding and the like.
    That orange yarn is lovely 🙂

    • theladybird February 9, 2012 at 2:31 pm #

      Yes, I just want a couple good winter days to do winter things and then bring on the springtime …. Thanks for stopping by yesterday!

  4. swanski February 8, 2012 at 8:14 am #

    I agree that it is a weird winter and it does feel strange. Love the cowl pattern that you chose!! I also adore the orange 🙂

  5. www.theevolvinghomemaker.com February 8, 2012 at 8:19 am #

    lol. i saw daffodils at whole foods last week and was like, no way january is even too early for ME to buy my favorite flowers…it doesn’t make sense…april is more like it…then we got two feet of snow and the kids have been sledding since!

    🙂
    jen

  6. Jen February 8, 2012 at 8:38 am #

    I love the color yarn. Beautiful! We’re having a strange winter here too. While I’m not a fan of winter, I do wish the season would come already! It’s weird to be early February and only need a sweater to go outside most days!

  7. Ellen February 8, 2012 at 9:45 am #

    Hunting up rocks and buying daffodils sounds good to me, but other than a few sprinkles of snow today, I agree – where is winter? Glad you had time with your friend – that’s always a fun pick-me-up.

  8. Meadow February 8, 2012 at 11:04 am #

    Yesturday we were outside too. I was pulling vines (a springtime job here) while the kids were running round and building stick forts. We were all wearing sweaters not coats! I see daffidils peeking out already!

  9. Heather February 8, 2012 at 4:43 pm #

    There is something about orange yarn that speaks to me. When we read LHoTP I ran into many of the same questions. So tough. Cute cowl pattern BTW.

  10. Kim February 8, 2012 at 5:19 pm #

    I love that orange yarn and the pattern looks amazing. Thanks for sharing! I found you at the Small Things Yarn Along and am a new follower/subscriber. Your blog is beautiful and I can’t wait to see more of the wonderful crafts and crochet projects you share! 🙂

  11. Kim February 8, 2012 at 5:20 pm #

    Oops! I hit enter before I was done! My site is morrowsunshine.com if you ever feel like stopping by! 🙂

  12. Mary--The Yellow Door Paperie February 8, 2012 at 6:21 pm #

    Loving that color. And the book. My 6 year old daughter just brought home a few little house books that are broken up into stories and illustrated. We have plans to read the novels this summer, but it’s nice to introduce them to the characters little by little.

  13. Maria February 8, 2012 at 8:27 pm #

    I’m honestly okay with the winter. I really don’t like cold weather, it’s just totally unmotivating and makes me want to stay in bed 24-7. Spring can come whenever she likes as far as I’m concerned!

  14. Lisa G. February 8, 2012 at 9:15 pm #

    Yes, in Connecticut my daffodils are trying to come up – they mustn’t! I made a big book display at the library showing all the things you can do in the winter. Trouble is, I was imagining a snowy,colder winter where you’re stuck inside the house, all cozy. Something isn’t right here. (but I’m really not missing snow this time)

    I love the orange – so pretty!

  15. anushka February 9, 2012 at 12:15 am #

    i love orange! looks like a great pattern too. we are reading the little house books too – posted today about it. but, we’re reading the picture books. i love how gently they are introducing history to my son. there hasn’t been much about indians in the early readers but just that pa carries a gun is enough of an oddity to my boy. and that he carries home a turkey he just shot for their dinner.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. February 9th « - February 9, 2012

    […] to accomplish today, be done early, make stew for dinner, and find some pockets of time to knit on the cowl I swatched yesterday.  (Notice, how I put that on the […]

  2. {yarn along} « - February 15, 2012

    […] last week, I cast on and have begun the 5th Ave cowl.  I like the pattern.  When Joel came home and saw it […]

Leave a Reply

