{yarn along}

22 Feb

Yesterday afternoon, all the stars aligned.   All the girls took a nap.  Praises resounded.   We have had a rough go of nap time recently.  In that still quiet, I had forty pages left in The Winter Sea, and I intended to savor every single one of them.  I really enjoyed this book. I liked the two stories told.  I liked the characters (past and present) and oh my, was I stunned at one point. There was actually one point where I saw how much of the book was left and was wondering how the author was going to wrap the story up.  Good thing, too, she got me.  Smelling the sea air is the only thing that could have made the book better.

I have been making progress on the cowl I began last week.  The pattern is knitting up nicely, and I am excited for it to find its way to its new home, soon.  I am thinking I will tackle my list of project almost near completion very soon …

++ I say all this knowing full well I am headed out of town soon and Joel’s mom is going to help me start a smocking project for the girls and our trip to the beach this year.  Dresses for the beach are, in fact, on the list, perhaps I’ll just call this a jump start.++

As I walked down stairs this morning the sky was so bright red, I just had to stop and soak it in.  Enjoy the day, friends!

{joining in with ginny again this week for the lovely yarn along}

9 Responses to “{yarn along}”

  1. barefootrooster February 22, 2012 at 6:55 am #

    lovely. all of it.

  2. swanski February 22, 2012 at 8:50 am #

    lovely cowl progress! The book looks very interesting. I hope nap time stays for awhile for you so you can read and knit more.

  3. Ellen February 22, 2012 at 9:08 am #

    A fire, a good book, a little knitting, a cup of ? (coffee?) – good day, indeed.

  4. Natalie February 22, 2012 at 11:24 am #

    Your stitch pattern is intriguing! I don’t think I have ever seen it before…what is it, if you don’t mind sharing.

  5. lori February 22, 2012 at 12:26 pm #

    oh my this is a cozy post, happy knitting!

  6. Rosina {Rosy ~ Posy} February 22, 2012 at 3:09 pm #

    How lovely to be reading, knitting and sipping tea by the fire. Now that’s my kind of afternoon. Thank goodness for naps *grin*. Happy knitting!

  7. Kylie February 23, 2012 at 4:51 am #

    I love the close up shot of your knitting…gorgeous!

  8. stitchandpurl February 23, 2012 at 4:14 pm #

    Lovely knitting and reading moments..

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. honey cowl, second time around « - February 29, 2012

    […] getting so much warmer, don’t you know, mom?  I finished the 5th Ave cowl I was working on last week.  I will post as soon as Joel is home to take some pictures.  He is traveling a couple days this […]

Leave a Reply

