honey cowl, second time around

29 Feb

Yesterday we had some official papers of sorts to take care of and it ended up being quite a bit more stressful than an average day.  Finally, while dinner was simmering on the stove, I sat down with my ladies who had decided (on their own) to color happily.  I was able to knit the first round on my honey cowl.  I made one of these cowls for myself last month, and I wear it all the time.  This is a present I am working on (the after-Christmas knitting I mentioned a while back), and the recipient asked for this pattern – in rust color.

Would you look at that face and that grin?  Eva has completely embraced wanting to be one of the bigger girls.  She plops herself in the middle of their activity and added her own reckless abandonment to every situation.  Ella has quite a bit of patience for her (perhaps, the most in the family), and it is so sweet to watch Ella along side of her.  This weekend, Ella and Eva were playing trains.  Eva took apart the track Ella built for her, repeatedly.  Finally, Ella decided they would play something Eva could not undo.

I am making progress on my knitting basket, and the end is coming, I do believe!  I only have one side to seam on the Wyatt Sweater for Sophie and in perfect timing too.   She is already beginning to balk at wearing a coat to play outside since it is getting so much warmer, don’t you know, mom?  I finished the 5th Ave cowl I was working on last week.  I will post as soon as Joel is home to take some pictures.  He is traveling a couple days this week. Indeed, part of what made some of yesterday stressful.   He comes home tonight and then we are off to visit his parents for the weekend.  We are attending a wedding in Charlottesville this weekend, so the girls are staying with his parents and we are having a quick little trip.  Yes, indeed!

Have a wonderful & rainy day, friends!

++ joining ginny in her yarn along

2 Responses to “honey cowl, second time around”

  1. Ellen February 29, 2012 at 8:05 pm #

    I remember when my children loved coloring in coloring books – a rare treat – I was in my ‘anti-coloring book’ stage and gave them just paper and crayons instead. But learning how to stay inside the lines is a great skill for dexterity. Did you like the Honey Cowl when you knit it the first time round? I’m making one right now.

    • theladybird March 8, 2012 at 3:31 pm #

      Ellen,

      Yes, I love the honey cowl pattern! Yours is very pretty – are you liking knitting it? Hope you are having a good day!

Leave a Reply

