5th Ave Cowl

14 Mar

  • Pattern: 5th Ave Cowl
  • Yarn: Patons Classic Wool
  • Size: one size, I used two strands of yarn held together to achieve gauge
  • My Ravelry Notes: here

Hello, early spring!  The weather here was just beautiful these last two days.  If this is coming in like a lion, I’ll take it.  There are dirty feet, pinked cheeks, and signs of play all over the yard.  The girls and I have half way dug up the weeds that transplanted themselves in our vegetable garden space to make room for the lettuce, snap peas, and spinach we have planned. They are on the back patio just waiting for planting day. The last time I tried lettuce it bolted, and I have never tried peas.  Any tips are welcome.

Just in time for all this gorgeous weather, I finished and gifted one of the Christmas Cowls I had promised.  The recipient picked out the pattern, and specified the yarn color, so I am hoping it ends up being just what was hoped for and is well worn.  The second Christmas cowl just needs a good blocking and will be done as well!

I hope all of you have a great day.  Ours will include more time on the swings, a trip to the library, and some iced tea to satisfy the craving I got yesterday.

++ joining ginny for her weekly yarn along

15 Responses to “5th Ave Cowl”

  1. Maike March 14, 2012 at 6:56 am #

    Now that’s a lovely cowl, the colour is absolutely stunning!! Around here we are still waiting for the first promised days of warmth and returning sunshine… but the birds outside seem to know they’re coming, judging by the constant ruckus they are making =)

  2. Greer March 14, 2012 at 7:02 am #

    Such a beautiful colour and stitch. Lovely!

  3. Tracey March 14, 2012 at 8:09 am #

    The cowl, both pattern and color are just beautiful!
    I had to laugh when you said your day includes iced tea!
    I make a gallon of tea every day, all year round for this crew here.
    Is it just a southern thing I wonder? Regardless, it is something
    you will always find in my fridge.
    Happy yarn along.

  4. Kristin March 14, 2012 at 9:01 am #

    amazing!!!!

  5. Ellen March 14, 2012 at 9:54 am #

    Love how the big stitch makes it look like little baubles. And yeah for spring too. I am so busy and so behind on any type of garden planning, that I only foresee a few pots on our back deck this year…again.

  6. Rachel March 14, 2012 at 11:00 am #

    Peas are really very easy- if you have vines, make sure they have something to climb 🙂 And dont count on bowlfuls- you’ll eat them raw 🙂 If you plant your lettuce in an area where it can get shade from afternoon sun it will help. In Colonial Williamsburg, they have some things they put straw on to keep them cool. Kind of like a little pagoda for the lettuces 🙂
    Your cowl is lovely by the way 🙂

  7. kerry March 14, 2012 at 12:44 pm #

    Oh yes, that color is just wonderful. I love the way the yarn shows off the lovely stitches! And yes, yay for spring-like weather!

  8. lori March 14, 2012 at 12:47 pm #

    very pretty cowl! and things sound lovely out your way! pink cheeks and dirty feet! good luck with your garden. xx

  9. Gretchen R March 14, 2012 at 1:14 pm #

    Beautiful! I love your blog here. So simple and pretty. Spring is wonderful isn’t it?

    • the lady bird March 16, 2012 at 9:19 am #

      Thank you for such a sweet compliment about my blog; It really means a lot. I am glad to have met you!

  10. swanski March 14, 2012 at 4:44 pm #

    Gosh I just love your cowl!! It’s a great color and a great size 🙂

    • the lady bird March 16, 2012 at 9:14 am #

      Thank you so much! While it was knitting, it was hard to tell how long it was going to fall and how it was going to drape, so I am glad it came to the length it did! Hope you have a great day!

  11. Shara March 14, 2012 at 9:40 pm #

    Wow that colour is so good…love it!

    • the lady bird March 16, 2012 at 9:09 am #

      Thanks Shara.

Leave a Reply

