Lucky Penny

22 Mar

  • Pattern: Honey Cowl
  • Yarn:  Tivoli (a silk and mohair combo)
  • Size: In between the two sizes in the pattern.  I wanted it long enough to loop twice, but still sit fairly snug around the neck.
  • My Ravelry Notes: here

The last of my Christmas knitting is finished and wouldn’t you know,  just in time to put the snap peas in the ground! I love the honey cowl pattern.  It just seems to move along the needles in a very soothing motion.  The stitches produce a waffle effect.  The first one I made, for myself, I used bamboo yarn, and since it stretches quite a bit it had quite a bit more drape than Lizzie’s cowl.  Dear Lizzie requested a rusty color.  I found this yarn on a trip to Charlottesville one day late this winter.  The yarn is silk and mohair so it knit up much denser than the bamboo, but equally luscious. I hope you still have a couple days in Pittsburgh when you need a little love around your neck.

This completes three of the knitting projects I wanted to get done this winter.  Not too shabby!

Projects done:

  • 5th Ave Cowl
  • Lucky Penny
  • Sophie’s Wyatt (still need to show you)

In the basket:

  • Eva’s Bluebell
  • Eva’s Clara Dress – this one needs to be completely frogged and restarted.  I have set this one aside until I finished some quicker projects
  • Sophia’s dress for the beach (a smocking project w. Joel’s mom)
  • a quilt I have been s.l.o.w.l.y working on

Well, there it is.  The list.

If you feel so inclined, I would love to see your list so we can encourage each other.

2 Responses to “Lucky Penny”

  1. Erin March 23, 2012 at 10:50 am #

    Your friend’s cowl is BEAUTIFUL! Great job, friend!

  2. heather • you make do™ March 24, 2012 at 10:19 pm #

    Hi, Katie. I began a collaborative Pinterest board this morning. I am inviting other like-minded, natural inspired, creative souls to join in. There are a few of us already and I would love for you to share your own lovely posts on the collaborative board as well. Take a look at the board and the fellow contributors that have come on board so far. Then, contact me (at the e-mail address I submitted with this comment) if you would like to join. I’d love to have you and your talent there. And, you can change your mind at any time. Also, I apologize for leaving this message here…I couldn’t find any e-mail address for you here. The collaborative board: http://pinterest.com/youmakedo/make/ -heather

Leave a Reply

