Cayden’s Knit Blanket

26 Sep

My dearest friend, since the eighth grade, gave birth to her first baby earlier in the summer.    I gave her this blanket at her baby shower a couple weeks before he was born.  The parents waited to find out if the baby was a boy or a girl, so I choose a gender neutral yarn color that could take a little dirt embedded into it because, of course, I KNEW the baby was going to be a boy.

Growing up, the two of us desperately wanted to live next door to each other.  One night, we devised a plan in which we could link our bedrooms together with a walk across bridge between our two houses, with our new shared closet in the exact middle.  There we could share clothes with so much more ease than sharing them in homeroom the way we were currently doing.  Well, her parents never bought the house next door, and our plan was foiled.    Now, that same house is in foreclosure.  Could you imagine trying to explain that to future buyers? HA.

Cayden,  my deepest hope for you is that you would be blessed with a lifelong friend who knows you better than you realize and still wants to know more.  I hope you have years upon years of the friendship that makes life’s memories more sweet and the future brighter.  You have a great mom, and I love her dearly!  Snuggle tightly with your blanket and know how happy everyone is that you are here with us now.

On the knitting side, this yarn and pattern were great.  Ravelry notes can be found here.

++ joining Ginny for her weekly yarn along.

13 Responses to “Cayden’s Knit Blanket”

  1. barefootrooster September 26, 2012 at 6:25 am #

    Beautiful.

  2. Carly September 26, 2012 at 6:37 am #

    Gorgeous blanket, such a great colour 🙂

  3. Christine September 26, 2012 at 6:38 am #

    Do you think I could get this pattern from you? It was my great-grandmother’s go-to pattern and no one in my family knows what it is called. It would mean a very great deal to me. I’m over at knitcorner.blogspot.com
    Gorgeous work.

    • the lady bird September 26, 2012 at 2:50 pm #

      Christine,

      Thanks so much for visiting this morning. I used the book Knitting for Peace, and it is the Project Linus Security blanket pattern. (I checked this book out from the library so I can’t give you actual stitch pattern here.) I believe the stitch pattern is called modified feather and fan. I hope this helps. Hope you have a lovely day!

  4. sezzaknits September 26, 2012 at 6:57 am #

    What a gorgeous blanket! I love childhood dreams. lol

  5. Kate September 26, 2012 at 7:25 am #

    What a beautiful blanket and beautiful post!

    • the lady bird September 26, 2012 at 2:44 pm #

      Thanks so much Kate. I tried several times to comment on your great fall colored yarn, but the comment moderator would never accept that I wasn’t a robot. Hope you and your boys have a great rest of your day!

  6. Alisa September 26, 2012 at 7:32 am #

    such a sweet blanket…..it’s so special to have such good friends! What a blessing!!

    • the lady bird September 26, 2012 at 2:17 pm #

      Thanks Alisa!

  7. lori September 26, 2012 at 11:16 am #

    what a special and beautiful gift! the blanket is lovely!

  8. Mackenzie {WhiletheWaterBoils} September 26, 2012 at 5:37 pm #

    That blanket is gorgeous! This week I’m sharing a test-knit of the Sunday Sweater pattern. 🙂

Leave a Reply

