a grateful weekend

18 Nov

This weekend was wonderful, and restful, and I am thankful.

Friday evening was a very long overdue haircut and fish tacos for dinner.
Saturday was a lazy morning for the girls and I.
Playmobil barn and hospital were brought out & the patients needed goat cheese from the farm as their medicine.
As they played, I carved out a small end of the table and worked on cutting more squares for the quilts  planned for Ella and Sophie’s room.
We were together and happily playing all morning,  – I am not sure I remember the last time that has happened so effortlessly.   I listened to them play and make believe; they are growing and changing right before my eyes and I just want to celebrate their growth at the very same moment I hold them so tight so they can’t grow anymore.
Saturday night was a double date for Joel and I.  Creamed Spinach & Mushroom Enchiladas from one of my favorite places with good friends and then the start of a little Christmas shopping at a local toy store.
This morning was church and three tired girls home for early naps.
The family watching overtime of the Cowboys game (a win), more Playmobil, quesadillas for dinner, and an anticipated Disney movie premiere to end the week.
It was a weekend where the tangible moments throughout our home, helped me see the invisible blessings I am most grateful for in our life.

Recently, as a family, we have several families we have been praying for healing and recovery in some pretty serious situations.  Friday, especially, my heart was heavy and full of prayer for them.  I am grateful a baby of a dear friend from high school made it through heart surgery and is on the road to recovery.  I am grateful there are praying people in the world who seek to see through the broken and the hurting and cry out for healing.

I would like to continue my gratitude posts through Thanksgiving.  Please feel very free to share what you are grateful for in this space.  It has done my heart well these past few days.

joining amanda for her weekending post and michelle for the final day of her gratitude week

3 Responses to “a grateful weekend”

  1. Erin November 18, 2012 at 10:27 pm #

    Sounds wonderful! I’ll tell you, it’s more a lifting of dark clouds than news, really that I have to share. But I’m glad you are excited for me!

  2. michelle gd November 19, 2012 at 8:06 am #

    your weekend feels so warm and cozy. love your appreciation for your family and how you extend that love to others in need of your thoughts and prayers. so very good.

    {thank you so much for linking up to gratitude week…i’m so glad you were able to join in}

  3. the habit of being November 19, 2012 at 11:54 am #

    sounds like a lovely weekend but most especially the news that a baby is recovering from surgery – prayer is a good thing 🙂

Leave a Reply

