Delight

7 Jan

IMG_0904

Last week was a slow and gentle start to the week.  We said goodbye to my sister and her husband after we rang in the New Year together. (For the past couple years, they have come for several days following Christmas.)  We found new homes for our new toys, packed away decorations,  tried to welcome old routines into the new year, and in general moved a little slower.  We started back to school on Wednesday and this was the right decision for Ella.  She was ready to have a more structured way to start the day and she flew through the review I had planned for the week.  After the rough start back to school after Thanksgiving, this was a very welcome relief to me.

This slow start gave me plenty of time to think and pray about the New Year.  I love new beginnings and the beauty of a fresh start, so I guess the newness of the New Year is right up my alley. Of course, I have a few habits I would like to work on as the year unfolds.  These are little things that I am currently not prompt about.  I know parts of my personality have trouble seeing the forest of here-now through the trees of what I have forgotten to do.  I want to be quicker about writing thank you notes (on time & as written notes).  I want to be better about my email.  If I don’t feel like I have time to write a real response I will just leave the email to linger.  Then, the days catch up with me and I have left the email unanswered. Oh my, is this a problem. In my attempt to be better about this, I have been unsubscribing from many lists and trying to clean up my inbox of junk so it is easier to have email work for me and not the other way around.  Lastly, I would like to be a better finisher.  You know, put the laundry away instead of leaving it in the basket; toys picked up before we move onto playing in another space; keeping a tighter reign on my creative project so I can full enjoy working on the project.

More importantly than these habits I mentioned above, this week I found myself writing in my journal mostly about what I hope to learn this year.  Overarching, I felt as if there is suppose to a delight to this year, for me, for my family, for our home and I want that delight to spill over.   I want to learn to more fully enjoy the wonder of the here-now.  Heck, even to notice the beauty and the wonder of the here-now.  May 2013 be the year my eyes are opened to more and more of the little graces that fill our days.  Ultimately, to delight in our days.  May you, friends, delight in your days as well!

One Response to “Delight”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Oaklet Shawl « - January 9, 2013

    […] see the end in sight, I grew excited to wear the shawl, soon.  In the name of my new year’s habits, I worked on the lace portion for the first few days of the new year.  I am so happy I did because […]

Leave a Reply

