Oaklet Shawl

9 Jan

IMG_0912

IMG_0923

IMG_0920

(photos by Joel)

As I was getting ready to head out of town this summer for the weekend , I grabbed the yarn and printed the pattern for the Oaklet Shawl.  I brought it with me to the seminar I was attending, and cast on for the shawl as I was listening to the speaker.  Once I came back home, knitting a winter shawl seemed to fall by the wayside of packing to move, and getting settled in the new house, and playing outside.  Earlier this fall, I took the shawl out from the bottom of my knitting basket and  enjoyed working on the easy body while the girls played in the leaves.  Once I could see the end in sight, I grew excited to wear the shawl, soon.  In the name of my new year’s habits, I worked on the lace portion for the first few days of the new year.  I am so happy I did because after re-watching season 2 of Downton Abbey on PBS I am done!  {I was quite excited about the premiere of Season 3 this past Sunday evening}

Once I finished the shawl, I gave it a good blocking and that really helped the stitches to fall into place and the lace to lay nicely.  Eva thought handing me the pins and using the spray bottle were great fun.

I thought this was a great pattern to use for making a first shawl.  Previously to trying this pattern, I had seen a couple shawls which I really liked the look of, yet they had such elusive instructions they left me stumped.   The directions of this pattern were very clear, and I think it ended up taking a lot of the mystery out of the triangular set up.

I picked up Bring up Bebe from the library last time I was there.  It is the story of one woman’s insights into the differences between French and American parenting.  Books like this – a look into the daily or nuanced life of others – are highly intriguing to me.  While I am almost positive it is not on the horizon to move to France nor am I even necessarily seeking to adopt any wisdom per-say, I am enjoying reading one woman’s take on French parenting.

Ravelry notes are here.

Joining Ginny for her weekly yarn along.  What are you knitting or reading this week?

9 Responses to “Oaklet Shawl”

  1. Christine N (@ChristineN17) January 9, 2013 at 8:47 am #

    Gosh is that ever beautiful. Congrats on getting it finished!

  2. Amy January 9, 2013 at 8:54 am #

    It’s stunning! Downton Abbey is when I get an uninterrupted hour to knit. So disappointed I missed the premiere!

  3. karen January 9, 2013 at 9:17 am #

    beautiful shawl!! I love what blocking does for lace knitting 🙂 I can’t wait to watch season three after the son goes back to his campus (in three weeks).

  4. Heather January 9, 2013 at 9:28 am #

    Beautiful shawl. I too am enjoying DA. It sounds like you are trying to wrap up any WIPs this year. I wanted to start the new year fresh and frantically tried to finish the remaining WIPs I had. I just missed – finishing a pair of socks New YEars day.

  5. Donna January 9, 2013 at 11:34 am #

    Love the shawl and on you!! Green is your color!! But then you also have a with child glow…

  6. projectstash January 9, 2013 at 11:52 am #

    I’ve admired the Oaklet Shawl for a long time and even cast on for one not that long ago. Sadly, I didn’t love the yarn I was knitting with so frogged the project. Seeing yours in such a gorgeous green has me itching to pick up that pattern again.

    • the lady bird January 11, 2013 at 4:09 pm #

      I completely agree that the yarn makes a really big difference in the enjoyment of this project! The pattern is great, and I think in a yarn you love the feel and look of you would enjoy the project. Thanks for taking a moment to stop by!

  7. Victoria @ Mommy Marginalia January 9, 2013 at 1:26 pm #

    I cast on an Oaklet in late summer, as well, but the first big part is so monotonous that it’s easy to let fall to the bottom of the pile, isn’t it? Yours turned out beautifully in the end!

  8. stitchandpurl January 9, 2013 at 4:50 pm #

    The colour is beautiful, well done for finishing!

Leave a Reply

